Live with a family with disabilities on a small homestead in Savannah, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 139 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help along side a family with disabilities as we maintain a 5 acre homestead in Savannah, GA and improve a tiny farm on a bridgeless Island.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Anytime two strangers interact, there is an opportunity for cultural exchange. Here in Savannah I provide history and culture of the English and Spanish settlement of SE coastal USA, and Georgia's pirate past. I also offer hands on experience in the US efforts to develop sustainable agriculture and living. I will tell you stories of my travels and lives and hope you will do the same. My husband is diagnosed with Aspergers Syndrome and has a progressive neurological disorder and hearing loss. You will not interact with him much as he spends most of the day in bed. I have multiple issues with my spine and joints and nervous system. I am happy to answer question if you will just ask. The current focus of my every day is the lumber project, so for the most part that is where you also will hang out. For the next few weeks we are cleaning up the antique lumber to prepare it for transformation into flooring for the building I live in. While we sit and pull nails, or run boards through the table tools conversations are to be had with my crew about God, community, race relations in the USA, and anything else of interest to us. I look forward to hearing your opinions. There is also daily time spent with the barnyard fowl, the orchards, and the gardens, usually in the mornings before the summer heat becomes oppressive.

  • Help

    Help

    Over a year ago, I dismanteled the oldest house in Hardeeville, SC.  Now I am processing the tons of salvaged lumber for several homestead improvement projects.  Five days a week I and my crew are sorting, cleaning, grading, planing and routing the lumber for flooring, beams, and sale.  We are also installing this wood in my largest building.

    When I'm not enjoying the recylced wood project, you can find me on the water or a bicycle, or lost (and found) in yoga poses.  I am also a housewife to a a disabled US Marine Vet who was diagnosed with High Function Autism in 2012. He loves our Savannah homestead and rarely leaves it.  He has an artists eye and as a result our place is visually pleasing, balanced, orderly, clean.

    I kitchen garden in zone 8b, which is a joy and a challenge.  I grow and wild gather more food than I can use.  I share my excess with friends, neighbors and family.

    Gardening is a health and community building activity for me. My focus is FOOD AS MEDICINE with undertones of spirituality and community.  

    I eat animals, because my body needs them.

    Raising animals and then slaughtering them for meat is a spiritual practice where I think about the circle of life and meditate on the Buddhist concept of Impermanence.

    I currently work in two gardens.  The largest is at my Savannah Homestead.

    My main kitchen garden is at sea level and so I grow in raised beds to combat salt incursion by the twice daily tides which reach me even though I am eight miles from the open sea.  My orchard and vineyard are inside deer fencing as my homestead is in a wildlife sanctuary of about 320 acres of mixed maritime forest, residential development, salt marsh, wetlands, creeks and a river.  This oasis of nature is completely surrounded by the City of Savannah which gives  aspects of both rural and urban life.

    My smallest garden is at my new half acre farm in a food desert community.  This tiny farm is still in development.  

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Covid 19 is still a concern here in my corner of the world. Potential guests will be asked to self quarantine for two weeks and be tested for the corona virus just before arriving. I require that you restrict your travel while a guest in my home and to wash your hands often, with hand washing being the first thing you do each time you enter my home.

    I am WWOOFUSA volunteer ambassador and the local host representative. As such I am devoted to the spread of sustainable, ethical, healthy lifestyles.  I am eager to learn from my guests, and to share what I know.  My hosting style is close and personable.   I  have good friends I met through wwoofing.  I am not an employer looking for free labor. I am not a teacher giving interns lessons. I am not a charity for whom you would volunteer.  I do not host budget travelers working their way across the USA.

    Dishonest, lazy, vindictive people just go away.

    Open, kind, hard working, early rising, forgiving people, can't wait to meet you.

    No pets, tobacco, foul language, excessive alcohol, illegal substances or activities.

    I do not provide internet access or transportation. I do not host hitch hikers.

    I welcome new guests before 3 p.m. to give me time in my schedule before my evening chores.

    I have an extensive application process, require references, photo ids, and video interviews.  I don't invite strangers into my home, so we will have to get to know each other first.

    You may not use my address for visas, mail, or deliveries of any kind.  For free US mail service look up “general delivery”or for a small fee contact .  For visas check with the wwoofusa FAQs at

    Please put this word “Sashiki” (spelled 佐敷, not 挿し木 or さしき) in your email to us so we know you have taken the time to read our entire profile.

    My Savannah home has several bedrooms and bathrooms which we may ask you to share with other guests. My tiny farm on Daufuskie Island is currently is a construction site, so I can only accept help during the day, there will be no overnight accommodations there.

    I do not host people who use tobacco products of any kind or who consume excessive amounts of alcohol. Absolutely no illegal activity, such as marijuana possession, cell phone use while driving, or drinking and driving.

    At my house you must be early to bed, and early to rise.

    It is a rare pet owner who fits in here. It has been done successfully, but it has also been a disaster, with trusted family pets rushing the door to chase my cats, or pulling free of a leash to maul my chickens.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Savannah is a city rich in history and the arts. Our downtown historic district draws 13 plus million visitors a year. Once or twice a week I ferry to a bridgeless Island that is home to an ancient Gullah community. I grow heritage breed animals and plants. In your free time there are beaches, running and boating trails, hiking through state parks, fishing, bicycling, libraries, museums, tours, the list is almost endless.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    none

We use black soldier fly larva and red wriggler worms to process our kitchen waste, and to produce compost tea which we feed to our kitchen garden.
volunteering with my houseguests at the Daufuskie Island Community Farm and Artisan village.
My tiny half acre farm with a collection of tiny buildings, two living houses, one living trailer, one workshop and one storage building, a grape arbor, and lemon, fig, loquat, plum trees and berry bushes.
We live in a clean house. there is no maid, so everyone cleans up after themselves AND each other.
We have numerous spacious comfortable private guest rooms.
The guest rooms all have private living areas.
There are three bedrooms upstairs to chose from. This bed is a $9K adjustable sleep number type bed with height adjustments for feet and head. The room has no exterior windows, creating a dark, quiet space for sleeping.
This queen bed has adjustable foot and head settings.
Our experimental kitchen garden with raised beds using hugelkultur, companion planting, BSFL, no pesticide, no commercial fertilizer, produces more food than we can eat or give away.
My heritage breed chickens free range during the day and are locked up safely at night. We hatch them and/or raise them from chicks. they provide us with eggs, meat, feathers for art projects, and endless hours of entertainment.
The beach on Daufuskie Island is pristine and private. I rarely see anyone using it.
This winter I enjoy sitting by the kitchen fire to process the herbs I planted this spring, nurtured all summer, harvested in the Fall to hang from my kitchen rafters.
Best friends and partners for over 20 years.
Our house sits 200 yards in from a busy Savannah road that quickly takes us to hospitals, retail outlets, museums, and our boat docked on the Intracoastal Waterway.






Host ref number: 768247124628