Join us in our new adventure by the seaside, on our farm in Normandy, France

Country

France

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/08/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Peasant for 15 years, I restart in a new adventure at the seaside in Normandy (France): become a farmer-cook. The project is to set up a micro farm that will produce the raw material for a small restaurant area.

    I have three children, one big (16) and two small (3 and 4) ... all full of energy ... In 15 years of peasantry, I learned a lot about the breeding, the culture, the dairy, bakery, charcuterie and of course "good food" ... Today, I want to draw my project by taking inspiration from my new natural place: a space between land and sea where I can mix culture, breeding, gathering, fishing ... I leave my old farm in February 2020 and start the new project in March.


    Paysan depuis 15 ans, je me relance dans une nouvelle aventure au bord de la mer en Normandie (France): devenir paysan-cuisinier. Le projet est de mettre en place une micro ferme qui produira la matière première pour un petit espace de restauration.
    J'ai trois enfants, une grande (16) et deux petits (3 et 4)... tous pleins d'énergie...
    En 15 ans de paysannerie, j'ai beaucoup appris sur l'élevage, la culture, la fromagerie, la boulangerie, la charcuterie et bien sur la "bonne bouffe"... Aujourd'hui, je veux dessiner mon projet en m'inspirant de mon nouveau lieu naturel: un espace entre terre et mer où je peux mêler la culture, l'élevage, la cueillette, la pêche...
    Je quitte mon ancienne ferme en février 2020 et commence le nouveau projet en mars.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I like the concept "from the ground to the plate", to know the history of the country, the know-how, the gastronomy, all this in the good humor ... I will share willingly my knowledge: breeding, cheese, bakery , charcuterie ... obviously around a good table!

    j'aime le concept "de la terre à l’assiette", connaitre l'histoire du pays, les savoirs-faire, la gastronomie, tout ça dans la bonne humeur... Je partagerai volontiers mes savoirs: élevage, fromage, boulangerie, charcuterie... évidemment autour d'une bonne table!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for a hand to draw, create the edge of this micro-farm: garden, huts, land-art ... Also some help with animal care and cooking are welcome ...

    Je recherche des coup de main pour dessiner, créer les abords de cette micro-ferme: jardin, cabanes, land-art... Aussi quelques coup de main sur le soin aux animaux et la cuisine seront les bienvenus...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    an independent yurt is at your disposal and the kitchen is shared.

    une yourte indépendante est à votre disposition et la cuisine est partagée.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Being at the seaside, a multitude of strolls, fishing, small cultural village, A bike available, canoes ... You can take a trip to Jersey to take a breath of fresh air "British ..." Further, at a hour drive, you will find the bay of Mont-Saint-Michel, the landing beaches, the natural site of the tip of La Hague ...

    Etant en bord de mer, multitude de balade, pêche, petit village culturel, A dispo vélo, canoës...
    Vous pouvez faire un petit saut à Jersey pour prendre un bol d'air "British..."
    Plus loin, à une heure de route, vous trouverez la baie du Mont-Saint-Michel, les plages du débarquement, le site naturel de la pointe de La Hague...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 765611733127