Family farm in south west of Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 418 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    598

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    We are a family of six. Mother (Torill), father (Jone) and 4 children; 5,7, 13 and 15 years old). We live in the southwest part of Norway, 20 km away from the coast line.

    Please read our profile description before sending us a request.

    We live on a farm with cattles, sheeps, sometimes pigs out in the Woods, some hens, dogs and cats. Our cattles and their calfs is out all summer season eating grass. Early summer we drive the sheeps up to the mountains where they can eat fresh grass every day together with many thousands other sheeps. Sometimes during the summer we are taking our part as shepherd.

    We also produce vegetables for the local CSA. CSA mean Community-supported agriculture. This is an alternative, locally based economic model of agriculture and food distribution. A CSA also refers to a particular network, or association of individuals, who have pledged to support one or more local farms, with growers and consumers sharing the risks and benefits of food production. CSA members, or subscribers, pay at the onset of the growing season for a share of the anticipated harvest; once harvesting begins, they periodically receive shares of produce. (copied from Wikipedia)

    When we need some time off durng the the summer, we like to have a bath or paddle tour in one of the lakes in the area. We also like to take a short or long walking hikes, or go by boat on the fjord fishing or catching crabs. Our family are active in the local scout group. The nice evenings during the summer, we love to relax around a campfire :)

    We experience it to be very nice when the workawayers are integrated as a part of the family, and we will do our best to make that happen. We will velcome visitors who wil appreciate that, and at the same time will do their best to interact and offer their help in all the activities of the daily life of a active family.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience and get a taste of Norwegian culture and nature, as well as the Norwegian way of life. Beautiful landscapes and views. Stay close to the fjords of Norway, espesially the beaches along coastline named Jæren and the fjord Lysefjorden and nature around is worth to explore. Lots of hiking posibilities due to the good work done by The Norwegian Trekking Association. They operate self service cabins and mark routes across the mountains nearby.

  • Help

    Help

    We will always try to arrange for a little variation in the work tasks. In the spring there are many different tasks to be involved in. Sowing of vegetables, planting, feeding and cleaning at animals on the farm, calves and lambs are born, cleaning in livestock rooms, etc. In the middle of summer, the main job is to keep the weed under control. All animals are outside grazing during summer and it is a bit difficult to find tasks for variety. When autumn comes, harvesting of potatoes and other vegetables begins. The sheeps must be brought home from pasture in the mountains and it will be a little more work related to the animals again. During late autumn and winter time we have to manually dig out the dirt from the sheep's house to get it clean before the lamb is going to be born. We are also trying to do some improvements and maintenance to our machinery and buildings during winter.

    Please have a look into our feedbacks to get a good impressium af the life together with us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two vounteers will share bedroom in our living house. Living room, bathroom, kitchen and washing machine sharing with the rest of the family.

    Meals:
    We normally have three meals during the day together with the volunters. We eat meat and wegetables. Even as we are producing meat, we have lots of good experiences to host persons that don't eat meat. If you are vegetarian, you are welcome to send us request.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In Norway we practice quite strict precautions not spreading antibiotic resistant bacterias, MRSA bakteria. We want to be as sure as possible that we dont get the MRSA bacteria. We need to ask all workawayers to send us a up to date test result showing you dont carry any MRSA bacteria. It is not possible to bring own animals for your stay at us.

    The area provides excellent opportunities for outdoor activities such as hiking , kayaking and cycling.
    Most activities in nature in Norway is free, but travelling and living in Norway is expensive.
    There are good public transportation in the area.

    We dont smoke inside houses at our farm and we dont drink wine to the meals. Please accept our way of life.

    Please let us understand you have read all our profile when sending us inquiry. What in our profile gets your attention? What do you think about the working tasks mentioned in our profile? It is very important for us to come well along with the workawayers and to be together as a team. Please tell us about how you are used to participate in daily family life. We can alternatively agree for a skype or a phone meeting before making any agreements.

    Compared to many other places in the world, the norwegian west coast can be really rainy and cold during all the summer. Maybe temperatures between 10 and 14 degreeds celsius all July! Some visitors find it quite hard to stay for a long time with a lot of rain. What do you think about working outside in the rain day after day?

    Remember to sign up for a travel and health insurance. You never know what can happen.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    That is hard to say! We experience that many visitors really want an active holiday and it can vary a lot what people defines as work. Some days are really long working days at our farm. But the average weekly working hrs should be around 25hrs.

Lysefjorden
Madland scout camp
Sviland view
Ulvanuten view
Gramstad
One of the beaches 20 km away.
Lutsi lake
Production of vegetables for the CSA "Sandnes Andelslandbruk"





















Host ref number: 761156426437