Help us with garden projects in Wellington, New Zealand



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Hello, my name is Emma and my partners name is Jack. We live 15mins by train from Wellington city on a quarter acre section in Tawa. We have a lot of garden and a very fluffy cat called Levi! We are looking for help maintaining our beautiful garden and always have little projects on the go around our house. We are a couple in our late 20s, we love cooking, travel and spending time outdoors. We enjoy learning about other cultures and welcoming others into our home.

    We have a warm, comfortable house a 10min walk from the train station so you can easily access the city, the coast and the bush. We also have a couple of bicycles you're welcome to borrow if you prefer getting around that way.

    We look forward to meeting you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy sharing evening meals together, can offer travel ideas around NZ, can help with learning English and introduce visitors to a Kiwi lifestyle.

  • Help


    Most of the help we need is in our garden. This could involve weeding, pruning, mowing lawns, stacking firewood etc. In the event of bad weather help around the house with cleaning, cooking meals or small DIY projects are examples of tasks you could help with.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You will be staying in a sunny double bedroom in our home. We have a shared bathroom, big living space, well equipped kitchen and of course a large garden to enjoy. You will also have access to high-speed wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are local cafes and bars within walking distance, nearby beaches you can access via car or train and easy access to wellington city by train. There are lots of activities to enjoy in the wellington region, we are well known for our incredible restaurants, coffee, coastline, hikes and museums – you will definitely find plenty to do here!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have room for small campers to park off street but anything large probably won't make it down our steep driveway!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 752968782279

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Gardening help for a Kiwi family in North Canterbury, New Zealand
A little piece of heaven at the end of the famous New Zealand Cycle Trail, Ongarue