A converted horse box and plants in a small woodland between the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 162 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    575

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I (Josh) and my boyfriend Alex live together in a converted horse box in a small woodland set between the Lake District and the Yorkshire dales. I am community artist and run a creative re-use project in Kendal, I also work at a school for boys with Autism. Alex is works for a Homeless hostel in Kendal and is a councillor. We have two Labradoodles called Naia and Ginger. They are both very friendly and very lively.

    For the last couple of years we have been building a home for ourselves in our own woodland. We started by converting an old horsebox and now we are building some extra spaces that connect to it. We love recycling so we have been working a lot with reclaimed timber from pallets and other up cycled items too. We have also been recovering the woodland which was completely over run with Rhododendron and turning it back into a diverse and healthy woodland full of wildlife.

    We love sharing our life in the woods with others and we also have lots of work to do which is why we think WorkAway is brilliant.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Both Alex and I have spent a lot of time volunteering and travelling abroad so we can appreciate the value of sharing different skills and experiences. We love sharing our life in the woods with others. We live simply but take great enjoyment in life in the outdoors. We can teach you all about cooking on open fires, how to use woodland tools, basic construction techniques, re-using pallets and lots of other things related to a low impact lifestyle.
    We also have lots of other interests between us, Josh teaches circus skills and is a fire performer. Alex is a photographer and is training as a councillor.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with lots of aspects of our project, If you like gardening or woodland management then there is always loads to be done. This might be clearing weeds, planting new plants and trees, collecting seeds, helping us dig our wildlife pond, making paths or chopping logs.
    There is lots of building work to do on the 'house' some of it is more skilled and so we would welcome anyone with building, or wood working experience to help with this, but there are also things we can teach you and easy but time consuming things to do like spitting pallets and preparing up-cycled timber for use.
    There are other DIY jobs to do which are unrelated to the 'house', This year we would like to create an area for chickens, we also need to build some more log stores and make a wooden base for the yurt. We also need to dig a big trench to fit a water pipe.

    Aside from these jobs we like to involve our WorkAway guests in the day to day tasks of life in the woods, this will include things like chopping and collecting wood, making cooking fires, cooking outdoors, walking the dogs, washing up etc...

    Josh runs a community art centre and recycling project and also runs workshops at events and festivals teaching art and circus skills, sometimes there are opportunities for guests to come and help out with these things.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in a mini dome yurt with a sun/star gazing window that is big enough for two people. it is lined with a carpet with simple camping bed that can be put together as one or kept as two. we have bedding for the bed if needed.
    The yurt will be your own private space, you will have your own outdoor toilet and a small outdoor stove (pots pans, plates etc included) We have a shower in the horse box which you are welcome to use when you need it (max once a day) When the weather is good we sometimes just go to the local river to swim and freshen up.

    Most evenings we will cook together (we are vegetarian) and you will be welcome to join us for dinner and to socialise. When the weather is good we often cook on the campfire and then relax around the fire for the evening. Depending on the length of your stay we might suggest some nights off where we do our own things . We love having visitors but sometimes we need to relax on our own too. Breakfast and lunch are also provided but you we will need to make your own most days.

    We live a couple of miles from the nearest town, There are no busses but we are happy to drop you off/pick you up if you need to go to the shops or want to visit when we can.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live between the Yorkshire Dales and The Lake District national park. These are both full of interesting and beautiful places to visit. There are loads of walking routes, mountaineering, bike trails, lakes for swimming, canoeing and sailing.

    Transport links from our place are very limited but we can drop you off and pick you up from Kendal (when possible and in moderation) where you can get a bus or train to most places. We also have some walking maps you can borrow.

    We try and live as Eco friendly as we possibly can...this is a work in progress though and we would appreciate if our guests would do the same.

    Guest are welcome to stay from 1-3 weeks. Sometime we can accommodate shorter stays.

    We typically expect 5 hours (approx) work a day. We assume that if you stay for a week that it will be like a normal working week of working for 5 days and having 2 days off etc.

    We also take guests out and show them around when we can but usually its based on how much work Alex and i can get done. Our typical day in the summer is to start work at about 10 (after breakfast) and finish at about 6, then either go for a wild swim, walking with the dog, cooking a nice meal, hang out with friends etc which guests are invited to do also.

    if you require more information then please get in touch.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 747234674859