Help us complete our self-build project in south west France

Country

France

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/02/2018

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come help us complete our self-build project in south west France. Learn / exchange building and woodworking skills; and maybe language skills too, in a fun relaxed environment. We are a couple, Tegan aged 50 and Nigel aged 37. We moved to France from Manchester England our project is to self build our house and to grow a lot of our own food. We are slowly working to make this a reality and are partway through our project but would like a helping hand.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful part of France, very rural so come experience a bit of what that means. We speak English. If you want to improve your English in a friendly relaxed atmosphere whilst doing some physical work or if you speak English and just want to come do a bit of physical work in a nice part of the world that would fit in with us. Or as we speak only a little french then if you can speak french then we could pick up a bit more french from you and you can learn building and woodworking skills.
    We would expect a maximum of 5 hours from you each day. Some days 3-4 hours depending on task for the day.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with our self build project here in the countryside of south west France. We are part way through the build, work will recommence in September when weather cools down a bit; work includes building walls and you can learn the skills of building with modern building blocks,mixing cement; plus traditional render. Once the walls and first floor are done we will be roofing. If you have the skills , brilliant. If not then it is not rocket science we will teach you all we require is a willing worker.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a wooden hut in our garden that has a single bed, electric and wifi and a wood burning stove; it is rarely cold enough to need to light the stove in September however as weather is generally mild. There will be a well stocked fridge in our temporary kitchen and we would expect you to help yourself to breakfast and if hungry. We will prepare Lunch in the middle of the day and Dinner in the evening. We sit down to a good meal each evening and enjoy both local cuisine and cuisine from the rest of the world.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is not much local transport, there is a train station in a closeby town of Chalais. There is opportunity to see some very beautiful french villages, walking, cycling(we have bicycles you can borrow), swimming in the river Dronne, canoeing or just relaxing here , reading for example. We have materials for sewing/knitting. If you are interested in woodwork there is opportunity to learn and/or use the equipment here, do a bit of wood turning.
    We are broadminded people and like people to feel relaxed and be themselves.
    We have a vegetable garden and grow a lot of our food. We are situated in a village but have open farmland to the back. We have 3 cats, its hard to know what to put here so anything else you want to know please ask!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 743927873247

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more