French family looking for an English speaker to join the family in Brécé, France



Favourited 41 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a French family with four children ranging from 6 to 10. We live in a house just 15 km away from the city Rennes. the house is not that big but we have a bedroom just recently done in the basement. The bathroom is upstairs, shared with the children.
    We are a couple a bit shy, we are not "big" talkers and in the evening we like to sit on the couch and read or watch a movie.
    It's really a place to discover a typical French average family. We don't have big projects, just we like to have quiet moments.
    We have a cat, Kitty, that is most of the time outside. And we also have a garden for those who are interested, you are most welcome to do anything it it to improve it .

    We share the meals but mostly in the evening, If you don't want to eat with the children, you can grab anything in the fridge. Usually, kids eat at around 6.30-7 pm and we eat just a bit later with left over (we eat little in the evening). I make meals mostly on week ends so we expect you to just grab anything in the fridge and eat whatever you want !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The extra car is a great opportunaty to visit the area as you like !

  • Help


    The first thing we really need is someone to get the children after school (at 4pm) with the car, bring them home, get them started with homework until I get home at around 5.30 pm. Sometimes, I would like the person to help me for the meals (such as pealing potatoes !) and keep the house about clean. Usually it would be just one thing that can been done during the day, such as : tidy one kid's bedroom, sweep the kitchen floor, put things away, etc. Or, for those who love gardening, do something with our garden. But all this can be done anytime and if it's not done that day, it's not a problem for us.

    We need someone with the drivers licence. We have an extra car just for you. You can use it for driving everywhere you want so it's an opportunity to visit other places.

    We would love our children to learn English so please speak to them in English, teach them words ! And if you learn French, you can speak French with us !

    You can also can have friends to visit you, it's not a problem if the visits are not too long.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We are in a house with a bedroom in the basement . However, the bathroom has to be shared with the one for the children. It has just been redone and is comfortable. There's a double bed, a desk and shelves.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Rennes is accessible by bus too. From there, you can go just anywhere you want.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 736773844593