Lots of projects on our farm on the coast of North East Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 394 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    303

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    DESPERATELY SEEKING A VERY SPECIAL COUPLE FOR LONG TERM STAY IF POSSIBLE!

    Since the pandemic outbreak we have been very busy adapting our farm business to provide home grown food and have opened a farm shop to sell this and other local produce. Our existing workaways have been a dream in facilitating these developments but they are moving on imminently as the road opens up again. Therefore we are really needing a couple to fill their very big shoes!

    Due to accommodation limitations we are seeking couples only, sorry! We are offering a very varied workaway position for those seeking to follow their own growing and farming careers in the future. This will be voluntary, under the normal workaway agreements and paid also, so you will have to be ready to work some long days alongside us, but we hope it will be very rewarding in many ways! As we have a wide diversity of farming interests we would give priority to couples that have an existing knowledge and passion for the work they will be doing here. And experience in small scale retailing will be wonderful! Fluency in English will also be a requirement. So anyone with an interest in helping with this would be very welcome, with fair wages accordingly. Experience in market gardening preferred but may not be essential.) As usual though we are really keen to hear from any couples looking to help with a host of DIY type jobs - from making doors, upcycling, painting, fence building - and general horticultural and animal care type help. Lots to do! Shearing commencing June/July so extra help would be especially welcome at this time as we get caught up in this and are unable to attend to many other tasks. We seek the independent natured people who love to interact but also like their own time to enjoy the surroundings or the leisure activities of their choice. Food can be self catering with food provided or meals can cooked for you)

    The background. We are a 40 somethings couple hailing from Scotland and South Africa with 2 young kids and relative new starts in farming. In 2017 we have taken on my dad's former arable farm of 140 acres here on the coast of North East Scotland and are full of ideas for change to make it more environmentally alive, sustainable, and financially viable - a tricky combo but very attainable, we just need a lot of help to get there! Business ventures range from sheep and pig rearing, free range poultry farming, flower farming and market gardening, and now a farm shop. Future businesses are to create a wedding venue, holiday accommodation and glamping. Other non commercial projects range from tree and hedge planting for wildllife, creating wildflower havens, bee keeping (June 2020), kitchen gardening, building restoration, reclamation of old equipment or upcycling projects, we have lots to get involved in, get as mucky as you like, and learn as you go. A love of kids to help a bit with childcare (we have 2 children of 5 and 7, June 2020) or even helping with domestic duties such as cooking and housework would be awesome!

    Other interests are home brewing, food curing/fermenting/smoking, making sausages and various butchery skills, so if you want to have a go or watch and learn then you will be very welcome. Wild food foraging also enjoyed by us but is seasonally dependant for availability or produce or free time!

    Extensive home library available on smallholding and good animal husbandry, permaculture, cooking and other related topics.

    We can provide warm or wet weather clothing and, in most cases, protective footwear against the elements! Not new, but good enough :)

    We are also located between 2 villages with pubs, shops, etc so you need not be isolated. If you want to visit NE Scotland and really see the value of your working day, with hopefully lovely people (!), then here's the place!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are both seasoned travellers so perhaps we can advise on future travels, and we have extensive travelling experience within Scotland itself, so tap that font please! As locals in a rural area we can introduce you to many other people of interest should you wish. In terms of skills there are so many you can gain and share here that it should not be boring!

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    On the whole it will be up to you to decide what you would most like to help with, and this can be as varied as you like it to be, or just go with the weather.

    We do need people to be hard working, but we will be ever so grateful for help, and would never expect too much, just enthusiasm to get stuck in really.

  • Languages spoken

    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a static caravan, far from new but very comfortable and spacious. . The accommodation is better for couples rather than singles (we would not put two strangers together!) so for best use of resources and shared company in working we prefer to take couples. Use of family house shower and washing machine etc. All food will be provided with evening meals preferably shared, but you can choose to be self sufficient and we will make provisions ad facilities for you to do so.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are right on the main coastal bus route runnning between Dundee and Aberdeen. And 10 miles from railway stations of Montrose or Stonehaven.
    As we have children and our house is very small we would ask for privacy in the evening after evening meals, and would encourage our volunteers to enjoy time out in their own space or can check out the local pubs, sports centre etc. We would not like to offend by not making this clear in advance!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, plus shop hours

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 736378811597