Volunteer on an aquatic farm in Queensland Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 327 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    47  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/07/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    226

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 55 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have an aquatic farm , I put out orders every week of true aquatic plants grown aquatically for aquarium shops.
    I live on 86 acres in between Mareeba and Cairns-north QLD, 1 hours drive to cairns and 20 min drive to Mareeba. I have 2 dogs ..you must like dogs ..there part of the family and 2 cats , and its a private property with Barron river on 1 side and Shanty creek on other..which has a water hole and sandy beach. My house yard is very big and there is always gardening to do and then the pond yard is where I grow aquatic plants.

    I am a easy going and fair person who likes a laugh. My main reason for signing up with Workaway is that the gardens and work around the farm gets too much for me on my own.
    And it would be nice to meet people from all over the world.
    As I’ve done a lot of travelling and have meet some really nice people.

    As long as you are very trusting and respectful and kind to my animals we will get along great .
    I am very easy going, I just like honest people and who pull their weight and do their fair share of work and help with cooking or and washing up .
    I LOVE MUSIC ......and have on while working all day .
    I am energetic ,I am always doing something.
    I love to cook and garden and hike .
    You have to love dogs.
    As my 2 are part of the family (they are with you all the time around the farm)

    Meals and accommodation are in exchange for work around the farm , which varies , I am a very easy going person and welcome you into my home .


    The farm is 20 min drive from the town Mareeba (we are in the bush) no public transport at my gate .

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will learn how an aquatic farm works and runs and learn all the details of the business /farm , they will be shown around the beautiful tablelands and see my part of the world , I love to hike and cook in my down time , so if they are interested in these things they will learn and experience this. They will experience living in the bush the Aussie way .

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, weeding gardens, scooping ponds, mowing, making pots which plants are grown in under water, cleaning out ponds (there plastic lined and plants are grown in pots) we bunch plants for orders in the shed.
    House work..ect

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house you stay in is off the work shed where we bunch orders ,which is next to my house, it has a bathroom, kitchen ( but we cook all meals in my house ) , 2 double bed rooms and your own T.V. No smokers please.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are not near public transport but I am happy to drop you at the bus stop in Mareeba to go to cairns or if your happy to work 4 full days then I will be happy to drive you around to sight see , as then I will have time to drive you around , as the tablelands is very spread out and lots of driving to sight see .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours each week day or 3 full days and then I can show you around , we can talk about it .

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)





























Host ref number: 7288238634ca