Volunteer help at the local farmers markets in British Columbia.

Country

Canada

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/06/2019

Contact Register
  • Description

    Description

    My farm is situated in the beautiful Bulkley Valley within easy access to Smithers. The Smithers area is known for its cultural diversity, mountain recreational sports and fishing. The area also hosts several multi cultural events throughout the year

    The farm is operated on organic principals, and 160 acres in total with one acre set aside for the market garden and two greenhouses. I also raise meat birds, turkeys and hens.

    I am in my seventh year of market gardening. In our greenhouses we grow tomatoes, herbs, peppers and greens. The garden itself produces a wide range of vegetables. I sell produce at the farm gate and local Farmers Market and look to broaden sales to restaurants and the general public.

    I am a single, older woman, with lots of energy who enjoys the company of younger people. I am also on Face Book.

    I offer comfortable living quarters in our log house with good wholesome food of different ethnic variety.

    The farm is situated on the lower slopes of Hudson Bay Mt. and close to a myriad of trails for mountain biking, riding and hiking. These trails are easily accessed from the farm. The farm is approximately 8 km from the town of Smithers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    Helping out at local farmers markets. Weeding, harvesting, caring for cattle and dogs.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    cabin accommodation

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Smoking is not allowed on farm.
    I have 3 dogs who have access to the house. All very friendly and used to visitors.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hrs per day (max 25 hours/week)

Host ref number: 727422865281