Help our multi-cultural family with our veggie and wild garden near Johannesburg, South Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a multi-cultural family living in the northern suburbs of Johannesburg. We have lived in our home for quite some time and have grown vegetables and herbs in our mini garden for our personal consumption. This was a trial and error project as my husband and I don't really have much gardening experience. The garden has been abandoned the last two years and scarce water supply and lack of rain partly contributed to the situation.

    As we try to save on water usage and attempt to move towards an "off-the-grid" life, we would like to invite workawayers to assist us with this transition.

    In addition to the small vegetable garden, we also have an interesting wild garden with large boulders, trees and a lawn where our 3 dogs spend most of their time. The house is relatively old and takes on the characteristics of a european cottage.

    We are people oriented, love music and exploring our city. We love and prepare different types of food from around the world. We have lived in Europe and the USA but have made South Africa home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a very rich history in South Africa and travellers coming to visit with us would benefit from exploring our local food, drink, music and culture. We would be happy to show our travellers our favourite and historical sights, including a tour of Nelson Mandela's home, Desmond Tutu's home, Hector Peterson site, Soweto, Constitution Hill and much more.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We require assistance with landscaping our garden. We have no clue where to start so people coming to spend time with us must have experience. We would also like to embark on a few "home improvement" projects like upgrading the kitchen, bathrooms, wooden doors, painting, etc. We also then would appreciate the skills of a carpenter.

    We have 3 dogs so our guest travellers have to be animal lovers too. Our dogs are very loved and form part of our family life. Our guests will be required to walk the dogs once in a while and perhaps even dog sit should we be away.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Setswana: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small "hostel" type room that is separate from the house. It has a single bed with its own small bathroom with a shower and toilet. Travellers will have access to our swimming pool, washer & dryer, dishwasher. A mini bar will be stocked with breakfast and lunch items for the travellers and they would have a mini stove to prepare these meals in their room. Travellers will join us in the home for dinner every night so that we can chat and exchange experiences.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We expect our guests to keep their living area neat and tidy. Workawayers will be expected to cover their own activity and food costs when we go out. Local travel in our area is best done through the use of Uber. However, we live in an area where you have access to a private bus and train service (see Gautrain) that is very efficient.

    We live within walking distance of two lovely mini shopping centres with restaurants, supermarkets, bars, hair dressers, dry cleaners & specialty shops. It is a relatively quiet neighbourhood with diverse cultures and age groups.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 721314555196