Help with some projects around our house and garden outside the historic town of Villedieu les Poeles, France

Country

France

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    240

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English family consisting of myself, husband and 20 year old daughter. We moved to France ten years ago. Our home is a three hundred year old farmhouse situated on the outskirts of the historic and picturesque town of Villedieu les Poeles in Lower Normandy. The town is a 25 minute stroll or 10 minute cycle away.
    We have two acres of garden consisting of outbuildings, orchard and an abundance of trees. We keep sheep and chickens. We share our home with three friendly dogs and three cats.
    We host French students during the school holidays. I hold a TEFL qualification to teach English so I'm happy to help improve your English.
    I am an enthusiastic cook so wouldprovide tasty and wholesome meals and will consider dietary requirements if needed. I'm happy to pass on any cullinary skills.
    The man of the house is an avid reader, is well travelled and has a passion for history and current affairs. Our daughter plays the piano, enjoys reading, philosophy and is bilingual. She returns to uni in September to study languages.
    We're hoping to meet enthusiastic, interesting helpers to experience the Good Life whilst making their contribution towards our little piece of heaven here in France. Projects would include general maintenance of the house and garden i.e. painting outdoor furniture, wood clearance, hedge cutting, animal husbandry etc.
    As a bonus we also own an acre of woodland in the Limousin on the river Gartempe. We're looking for help in maintenance of the fishermans cabin and land. A real gem of a place in need of some TLC.
    We look forward to sharing our home and laid back life style with those of you with an adventurous spirit.
    We would prefer to build up some rapport via email and telephone before acceptance and would require references
    A bientot...
    Adele and family

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Benefits would include learning English culinary skills and recipes, appreciation of the French way of life, animal husbandry, arts and crafts, improvement of English language and grammar taught by a TEFL qualified teacher, English culture in general and working in the great outdoors. A friendly family welcome!

  • Help

    Help

    In exchange for full board including meals we require help with general domestic duties and help with maintenance of the garden. This would include grass cutting, pruning, weeding and assistance with heavier jobs.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation would be one of the bedrooms unless we have students or family members staying. In this case helpers would have use of a comfortable caravan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would be happy for our guest(s) to accompany us on day trips visiting the many local attractions including monuments like Mont St Michel and the D-day beaches. We live 25 minutes from some stunning sandy beaches. We have plenty of interesting towns in the area including the harbour town of Granville where the Dior house is situated. The Channel Islands are easily accessible from here.
    There is a direct train to Paris (3 hours) from the station just around the corner from us.
    We enjoy cycling along the river and beaches.
    We have had experience of helpers which has proved a great success for both parties.
    There's the use of bikes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 694466862435