Atlantic seashore in Ballybunion, Ireland

  • Favourited 50 times
  • Last activity: 5 Mar 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    I am looking for 2-4 mature people or 2 couples for blocks of time during the months of April, May and June, 2024.

    I am looking for a cook, gardener, handy person and painter. One person should be good at cooking, preparing & cleaning up after dinner each evening & tiding up the kitchen. I would also need help throwing the occasional summer patio party. I also need cleaning & small jobs done around the house & garden. I would think 4 hours a day work with the rest of the day & evening (outside of dinnertime) to yourself would be a fair balance. If you come with your own car that would be wonderful.

    I am a single Retired Irish American lady who would enjoy the company of mature (30-60 year olds), out going people from a different culture, who don’t mind being a bit on their own in the evenings.

    I would probably stay in my loft while you are here. My workaway guests would be in the house together. Each would have a private, en suite bedroom. You would share the rest of the house: the downstairs sitting room, dining room & kitchen, the upstairs sitting room and laundry. You would be on your own to prepare breakfast & lunch, but we would gather each day for dinner. I would expect you to keep your own room & en-suite clean & clothes washed. You would also have to co-operate with the other Workaway guests in keeping the house clean. I will take care of cleaning the loft.

    My 4 bedroom home is on one acre near Ballybunion, County Kerry at the place where the Shannon River flows into the Atlantic Ocean. The house is in the extended part of the village, about 1mile from the top of the town. There are green pastures with grazing cows all around me.

    My upstairs sitting room & new loft have a lovely view of the estuary. My town has 2 blue flag beaches and a long strand for walking. There is also a river walk, a separate cliff walk and sea caves to explore. It is a lively seaside town during the summer. You can swim, surf, kayak, etc. from our beaches. We also have a Leisure Centre with a small gym, indoor pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi which costs around €10 per day or €60 per month.

    My neighbors are somewhat nearby, but they are mostly older like me. To meet younger people, you will have to go into town where the beaches, pubs and restaurants are.

    There is no bus service from my house into town, you may have to walk, cycle or take a taxi (€8) in & out. I can take you on some occasions. However, I don’t want to become a taxi myself. If you are older, I may be able to put one of you on my auto insurance.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think you will enjoy the town of Ballybunion and all it has to offer in the summertime. The beaches are lovely with swimming, surfing and canoeing available in the summer. There is also an indoor pool and gym in town.

    Please be aware that the weather here by the Atlantic Ocean is very unpredictable. We may have fog, mist or rain at any time. I cannot guarantee a warm, sunny spring or summer.

    The town people are friendly and very welcoming. There is live music & dancing at night. The town is connected by bus to other towns & cities in Ireland, but I would be willing to go with you by car to some locations. If you have a full driving license, I can look into putting you on my insurance so you could drive my car. I am 1 hour to Limerick City, Adare, Shannon & Killarney. Two hours to Cork, Blarney, Cliffs of Mohre, Galway. Three & 1/2 hours to Dublin and the east coast.

  • Help


    I would like to host 1 or 4 mature people who are interested in cooking, carpentry, house painting, gardening and some DIY. At least intermediate English skills are preferred. I would like the person to be outgoing, enjoy cards & games, with interests to share.

    I would expect about 4 hours of work each day, but with some flexibility with scheduling. The work could be done each morning to mid afternoon. The rest of the day & evenings are yours. You could be at the beach, cycling, hiking or exploring nearby. Weekends could also be free to explore.

    I would expect 1 Workaway guest to cook dinner daily and clean up. A second Workaway should be in charge of building a large shelving system in my garage. This would require expertise in carpentry. A third Workaway guest should have experience in house painting. This needs to be done in a precise & tidy fashion. You will have to be prepared to use a ladder to get to the top of the gables. Then there are the odd jobs around the house & garden that will take a flexible, handy person.

    All Workaway guests should keep their room & en-suite clean. Everyone should share in cleaning the house weekly.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    You will have your choice of 1 of the four bedrooms, 2 downstairs, 2 upstairs bedrooms. Three have 5 foot beds, the one has 2 twin beds. Each has an ensuite. One has a tub shower combo, the others have showers. At night you will have exclusive use of the two sitting rooms & TV with SKY connections. One TV is a smart tV with Netflix. I have a large back patio and garden and a smaller front patio/garden. Both are great for sunbathing & entertainment. I often have my friends up for parties.

    I usually don’t eat breakfast and love to sleep in. So, we might not sit down for breakfast or lunch together. However, the food would be there for you. We would plan evening meals together & go food shopping for all your needs. I would cover all the costs of provisions, but expect at least one of you to do the cooking & clean up. I DO NOT want someone who is a vegan, vegetarian or requires a special diet. I love gourmet food from all countries and want the Workaway cook to be free to prepare everything & anything that comes to mind.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will have plenty of time to get to know my area in North Kerry and nearby Irish attractions in Counties Limerick, Cork, Clare and Galway.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have no pets, just done house plants, flowers and a lawn to water. I do NOT want smokers, drug users, people with pets or people on special diets(vegans, vegetarians, etc.). If you have your own car, that would be fabulous.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of room on my acre for parking your car or camper van.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 691259354342

Feedback (4)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with sustainable, eco and climate action projects at our community-based not-for-profit in West Cork, Ireland
Help with our animals, garden and house in Killarney, County Kerry, Ireland