Permaculture project, gardening and more in Moorea, French Polynesia

Country

French Polynesia

updated  

Favourited 36 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Organic Status:
    Iaorana, we are 2 working on organic farm
    Your welcome at home for help us at the farm and discover the beautiful island of Moorea !
    We are a couple, member of certified organic association, welcome experiencing a natural life in a place where solar system is our energy, where rainwater is important, where you are facing the importance of saving water and energy.
    At the program : agriculture (learn about locals plants/methods, cleaning and planting), snorkelling.
    We live 25 kilometer from the Vaiare pier where we will pick you up
    About the accomodation, we got a garden for put a tent. In the house there are bathroom/toilets, livingroom, kitchen and a big garden with fruits trees.
    Come here to live a local experience and learn about polynesian life !

    We are starting to build our design on our property. Period of preparation, building, installing rain water collecting, testing seeds growing, preparing ingredients for mulch. Compost, etc ... we are on a land where we live according to the quantity of water for having a shower, cleaning dishes ... and also according to solar panels system.

    We are looking for good energy people, strong and not afraid of hardwork on the property,people who likes to be in the garden, to be outside under the sun, and sometimes under some slow rain with a raincoat. Please do not forget to bring your mosquitoes pack, if possible a pair of shoes to be outside in the soil during sun and rain period.

    In the case you are sick one day, there is no problem, you can organise to do more hours the next days ;

    we want to base our cooperation on trust and happiness with a great respect for the Hosts welcoming you ;

    activities will be shown once and you will have to redo it yourself and also be alone on an activity after we have been doing it with you the first time ;

    communication is important ;

    giving the Host and the Helpers, a time to be on their own is also very important for balance of our cohabitation ;

    Some important information on our conditions :
    we are not having employee ;
    we are not asking helpers to serve clients, we are not serving clients at all,
    We are not cooking for helpers
    We provide the food ( meat, vegetables, fruits, fish, eggs, salt and pepper, oil, )and the accommodation ( a tent or you can bring yours to avoid to mix your stuff with ours)
    We are not providing chocolate, candies, chips, biscuits ...
    We are not accepting smokers and any drugs addict on our property ;
    In case of special dietary, we ask you to take in charge your personnal dietary, ex : gluten intolerance, lactose intolerance .... cause special food are too expensive on our islands.
    We are located up in the hill and do not have any vehicule to land you, you will need to walk from down the city to our property.
    You can try to come with us in same car if you need a lift, and organise to pick you back at the time we are finishing our shopping. We are not going especially to the city just to drop you and pick you up.

    We ask you 5 hours per day from
    Monday to Friday, starting at 7:30 till 12:30 ;
    Lunch food must be cooked in advance in order not wasting time.
    You can decide to work a whole day and have a full day off if you want to visit a whole day the island.
    if we go to the beach, we can take you with us.
    We have 4 dogs to take care off too ;
    Loana is a business woman in reconversion, she is starting an Ayurvedic intensive Trainee during 3 years for becoming a practionner ,
    Daniel is from Aeronautical industries, he is a sheet metal worker and is called for some urgent job of many weeks ;
    Sometimes you, as a helper, would be in charge of watching after the property

    If you have questions please feel free to ask, so everything will be clear before you decide to come or not to our place.

    Mauruuru roa, Thank You, for your Help and Happinness !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    How to cook the URU fruitbread, how to use the coupe coupe, harvesting the local fruits, coconut extraction, creating trails, disconnecting from internet and wifi electronic waves, to be in a place where we live with solar panel, and water from rain water.

  • Help

    Help

    activities will be shown once and you will have to redo it yourself and also be alone on an activity after we have been doing it with you the first time ;
    Gardening : with brushcutter
    planting : with organic seeds
    preparation of sidewalks, of the plantation area, building : with the help of machete, and help of Daniel who is certified in using chain saw

    helping and training on pruinings : with Daniel, collecting the piece of wood and put them in car bucket,
    cooking : preparation of food for lunch and dinner
    helping with the food shopping : with Loana, going to the supermarket and helping to carry shopping bags ,
    repairing and cleaning engines used for the day work : chain saw cleaning, brushcutter cleaning etc ...
    cleaning the house : bathrooms, restrooms, common places,
    preparing the irrigation of the crops : building the connections for the water to come to the crops ;
    any helps for our permaculture project,
    there is so many things to do to prepare it, and mostly according to the weather

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    a tent is provided, you can also bring your own tent if you wish

    We buy food and the helpers are organising their cooking and meals.
    For the moment we are not asking for financial participation for food, only to take in charge your personnal diet for expensive products and also your personnal desires on food : like candies, chips, soft drinks ....

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Snorkelling, beaches, trek, bicycling, kiting, surfing,

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day from Monday to Friday


Host ref number: 688528516835