Come volunteer with us -small farm and retail businesses in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua- SEEKING 2 PEOPLE (couples preferred)

Country

Nicaragua

Favourited 123 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    375

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi we (Jorge & Ashley) have a small farm with pigs, chickens and dairy cows and some small gardens. We came to Nicaragua from the U.S. about 2 years ago and love our peaceful beautiful life on our tranquil farm with an ocean view. We are located about 15 minutes North of the Nicaraguan coastal city of San Juan del Sur. We have 5 dogs and we are a family of 4. We are looking for someone to come work beside us in some of our adventures here. We have several needs and opportunities.We would like two people who can commit to a Minimum of 1 month/Maximum 3 months.

    Please do not apply if you are a solo traveler as we need 2 people and preferably a couple. Thanks! :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    -Travelers can benefit from gaining experience in assisting with all aspects of running a business.
    -Travelers can really benefit by learning new skills on the farm and helping mentor other workers. Anyone who comes and does a great job can count on us giving a letter of recommendation for any future references they may need!
    -We are very hands off, we want a self starter and someone who can take direction and execute the task at hand after they have been given the instructions.
    -Culturally you will get to experience Nicaragua's beautiful people, nature, and amazing beaches! There is a rich nightlife and surf/yoga scene nearby to partake in as well.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for workawayers in good health with good work ethic and a positive attitude. It is a tropical climate and you will be working outdoors sometimes. A lot of times you will just be doing odd ends, running errands or helping to volunteer in our retail stores in town.


    Example of General responsibilities:
    -Help with retail store
    -Graphic design
    -business minded individuals
    -Deal with tourists and visitors to the farm- guest lodging
    -Cooking for themselves and family here (NOT FOR CUSTOMERS)/shopping/running errands
    -Experience with photography and social media marketing a plus
    -Web site design/building a plus
    -Hospitality industry experience a plus
    -Retail experience a plus

    Example of farm responsibilities when needed(not often do we need this as we have employees however sometimes they are absent for illness or vacation)
    -Feed & Water Animals/Milk cows
    -Clean Animal areas (pressure washing animal areas)
    -Give animals love and attention
    -Plant and water trees and vegetables
    -Land maintenance (trim grass, limbs etc.)
    -Handy with tools and not afraid to get a little dirty and sweaty
    -Oversee general "farm" maintenance including keeping track of the animals food and Vet visits to the property.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish is a plus but not necessary

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    -small private casita with kitchen,bath, and 2 sleeping areas.(2 queen size beds)
    -ocean view
    -Use of pool and barbecue area in off-time.
    -Great Wifi
    -Some communal family meals provided and a small weekly grocery budget provided as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    -There are buses and local taxis. Transport with us can be arranged from time to time and a ride is available anytime we are also going to town.
    -Great night life, restaurants and other activities in San Juan for free time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 679773792798