Help us renovate our property in rural Normandy, France

Country

France

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/10/2018

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a retired, young at heart couple who spend six months a year at our maison secondaire in rural Normandy. We are renovating the property, slowly but surely! Large private south facing garden offering lots of sun with some shade from established trees, also large barbeque. We live there with our two cheeky terriers, Bumble and Ted, and three chickens. When back in UK our home is a little cottage in North Yorkshire England. We are very conscientious with regard to environmental issues. We have two daughters in Yorkshire, who have three children between them, Kitty, Rufus and Bodhi. Rob is a chartered civil engineer while Ally, who worked in journalism, now produces crafts for shops in the Yorkshire Dales.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are obviously first language English so could certainly be helpful to those who wish to improve their English. We are 10k from the lovely medieval town of Domfront which boasts cobbled streets and medieval timbered houses. The D day landing beaches are two hours away. The iconic Mont St Michel is one hour away by car.

  • Help

    Help

    Specifically, fencing a one acre piece of land under Rob's supervision. Also there may be some assistance needed with light building work and gardening.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Twin or double room. Shared full bathroom facilities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are situated mid way between the villages of St Fraimbault and Passais la Conception. The former boasts a beautiful lake and coffee house/restaurant - the latter a bank, hairdresser, small supermarket, sculpture gallery, pizzeria and bar, butcher and chemist. Both are 1.5k away from us. We are just by the Route de Poires, which takes you by bicycle through the pear orchards of the region,the orchards housing the beautiful spotted Normandy cows famous for Camembert cheee.Two bicycles are available. We are happy to take our volunteers to Mont St Michel and /or D day landing sites. We can cater for vegetarians quite happily.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our favourite coffee place in Domfront, our nearby medieval town.
Ally and Janet the chicken.
Part renovated sitting room.
Dining room overlooking garden.
Ready to welcome you.
Bumble and Ted being obedient for once!
New double bed if preferred.
Twin bedded room, new mattresses.
Host ref number: 679225729951