Come and stay in the historic city of Lancaster, United Kingdom

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I would like help with some decorating, cleaning, gardening and tidying in my house. What you do would depend on the skills you have. In return, you get to stay in my lovely spare bedroom with its own en suite shower room. Lancaster is an historic university town with a large castle and only a few miles from the beautiful Morecambe Bay and a little further from the UNESCO World Heritage site of the English Lake District. N.B. The room IS ONLY AVAILABLE from 29th September to 9th October.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Lancaster is a lovely historic town, with four museums, two theatres, two cinemas and two universities. There are lots of good pubs and restaurants and a thriving live music scene. The countryside surrounding the town is lovely, and easily accessible on foot or by bike (bike storage will be available). There is a nature reserve within ten minutes walk of my house. If you need help with English, I can provide that too. Lancaster is a very environmentally conscious place with many cooperative sustainability projects going on, such as community vegetable growing, cohousing, etc.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a disability that prevents me from finishing decorating my house. I can do some of the tasks but not all and I'd like some help with the ones I can't manage. No specific experience is needed (though it would be welcome), just a willingness to follow instructions and pay attention to detail. I also need help with cleaning and tidying the house and in the garden. The work done would depend on the skills you have or want to learn. The spare room will be available from the 30th September to the 9th October, but a night or two either side of those dates might work as I have a sofa bed in the living room.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English; a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is in my back bedroom with its own en suite shower room. You will be able to use my kitchen to get your own food and there's plenty of space in the fridge. If you would like me to provide a cooked evening meal (this will be vegetarian, and could be vegan if required), I can do so, or you can cook your own. Please note, however, that this is a vegetarian household, so no cooking of meat is allowed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is very close to the railway station and a little further from the bus station. Also very close are buses to Lancaster University and the Lancaster campus of the University of Cumbria. Public transport is therefore available to Preston, Manchester and Liverpool to the south and the Lake District and Scotland to the north. You can even go to London and back in a day. There are direct trains to Lancaster from Manchester airport which has hundreds of international flights. I have lived in Lancaster for almost 40 years and know lots about local history and local places to visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 679184297644