Help create a beautiful garden in the French countryside in Pays de la Loire

Country

France

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/07/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I moved to France from the UK in 2015 to work on an exciting garden project.

    I am converting large areas of farm / grassland to an informal ornamental garden. We are creating new flower beds, introducing trees, installing water features, pathways etc. I also have some barns which need doing up but not as living accommodation. The aim is to create a place which will be opened to the public via Open Gardens.
    There is a lot of heavy work -ditch clearing ,brambles and nettles. rock clearing too. lots of use of the strimmer.

    I will provide all meals with wine at dinner. There are two bikes available for use. There are lots of cycle tracks. The local area has Roman and Medieval towns with markets and good restaurants etc. Le Mans is also quite close.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Helping with the project you will be able to learn horticultural techniques. You will also be able to enjoy the local french countryside and the food. An opportunity to practice conversational English or French.

    Several surrounding towns have expansive weekend markets selling all the local produce. There are nearby medieval and roman towns an villages, with interesting buildings / ruins to see. There are two pleasure lakes in the vicinity. There are also underground caves nearby. There are bird watching opportunities in the area. The nearby town of Laval is a "City of Culture". There are (already completed!) gardens in the area visit. Le Mans is also fairly close for the race track.

    The surroundings are best to visit by car as there is a lot to see within about an hour's drive. However, if you want to come by public transport, you can see the local countryside on a bike, which I can provide. There is a great lake a short distance away which you can enjoy. I can also drive you to places nearby as I travel around the local area quite a bit and go to the market regularly.

  • Help

    Help

    Work could include garden clearance, dry stone walling, making paths, pond creation, planting, creating flower beds, stream clearance, painting and decorating, grass cutting and strimming.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is in the house (private rooms) but you can camp or stay in the barn etc if you wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    i can pick you up from stations nearby -Laval,Rennes,Le Mans and Montsurs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexible)



Host ref number: 678896634311