Help us with gardening projects around our property while enjoying calm and peaceful countryside in Trivy, France

  • France
  • Favourited 2 times
  • Last activity: 4 Apr 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Jane and Jim retired to southern burgundy about 15 years ago and renovated a property with super views over the Clunysois countryside. We need some help with a few gardening projects and maintenance in exchange for superb accommodation, food and excellent conversation.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are in the cattle farming counytryside so it is calm and peaceful. We are English so you can speak English and / or French with us and we have French friends. We like our food / wine and the main meal of the day is at midday, a good oportunity for converstaion. Jane is a very good cook and is always interested in teaching / learning / exchanging some new recipies. and visiting our favorite wine producers.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Our gardening /maintenance projects include replacing a window shutter, trimming back hedges, re-roofing the chicken run, clearing out some storage to the loal tip, and never ending weeding!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We speak English most of the time and continue to improve our French.

  • Accommodation


    There is a two bedroom, en-suite gite next door that you can use. It has a fully equipped kitchen and a comfortable salon and you will have use of the pool. We ran it as a very successful gite until this year. We can all eat together for midday lunch which we will provide, outside when the weather permits. Breakfast and the evening meal is usually something light but you can cook your own in the gite, we can provide some provisions. Depending on the season we can also offer garden produce and eggs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearby towns of Cluny, Charolles and Macon each have their own historic interests, chateaux, museums and local markets. Please note we are in a rural location and you will need your own transport. There is safe off street parking in our courtyard outside the gite.
    We have a no smoking policy in the accommodation and the grounds.
    We do not allow animals to stay.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 666336396524