updated  

Looking for a native German speaker to help out with our kids in Namhae, South Korea

  • South Korea
  • Favourited 290 times
  • Last activity: 07/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a Korean-German family of 5! Daddy's working full time all day every day and mommy at home with 0, 3 and 5year olds.

    We live on the island Namhae in the very south of Korea and would be happy if you - GERMAN SPEAKING! - would help out keeping the home clean and the kids happy (4-5 hours, 6 days a week) in exchange for accommodation and meals, while I do housework and prepare meals.

    We have a nanny for the baby, so you will be there for the kids as SUPPORT. Mainly I need you to make my life easier, which can also mean cleaning around the house, dish washing, in the evenings occasionally watching the baby whilst entertaining the two bigger kids, or at least making sure they don't kill each other. Some days you may feel like being with the kids is too much. Then, you are very welcome to make a meal so I can be with my children.
    Sounds hard but also fun? Yes, a little. But they are super cute and you can learn Korean from them. ;)

    About your work schedule:
    Our two older kids go to daycare and kindergarten from 8:30 am - 4:30 pm. So I'll need help when they're at home and ON THE WEEKENDS. Practically, that would look like 1 hour babysitting/breakfast together in the morning (8-9) and 3-4 hours (5-8 or 9ish) helping with dinner prep and evening routine.
    I need help ESPECIALLY on WEEKENDS when all the kids are at home all day.

    Before you get all excited and send me a message, please read part of my favorite feedback left for us by a workawayer:

    "Living condition:
    I have to be honest about the location, though. Sangju is a tiny village, the majority of people are probably far over 60 years old. If you don't like seafood, there are basically no restaurants here where you can eat. There do exist some really nice cafés that have irregular opening schedules but if you want to explore the island a bit more, you'll need a car. The buses come so seldom that you cannot rely on them. So, be prepared that you are really far off and will spend a lot of time by yourself.

    To be able to communicate well with the kids you should either know German or Korean. The parents know English of course but the kids don't and therefore communication could be difficult.
    Also bear in mind that you live with the family and that the kids ask a lot of you, even when it's not officially your work time. It's playtime - all the time. You can love it but it will also drive you crazy sometimes."

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can teach you Korean language and cooking if you like and we can take you sightseeing around to temples, beaches or mountains on my off days. :)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help with my kids ESPECIALLY on the weekends. I'd like 4~5 hours of your time, usually in the mornings and EVENINGS.

    I will need you to also do other CHORES like occasionally preparing meals, cleanup or shopping. Any day during the week can be your day off.

    Our cheeky 5 year old daughter loves books, drawing, singing, dancing or just fooling around so you can get creative with her. Also the beach is quite close by (10 min walk) so you can take the kids to play in the sand or dip their and your own toes into the water ;)
    And 3 year old boy is quite happy to play with his cars or ride his tricycle.

    If you're as flexible and easy going as the other workawayers we had so far, I think you'll be fine and do great! :)
    And there's always room for conversation.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Korean: Fluent
    Japanese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    3 rooms, 1 bathroom.
    You'll have your own room (my former office), but shared kitchen and bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live close to the beach in Sangju, sights are accessible by bus or if you're into cycling by bike. Namhae is one of the hardest courses to cycle in all of South Korea.
    We also have the biggest beach of Namhae closeby where you can try jet-skiing, kayaking or also ride the banana boat! ;D
    You can enjoy the beautiful nature of this island, most of it is actually the national park Hallyeohaesang and is famous for its beautiful mountains, coast and rice terraces.
    We also have a German village with Oktoberfest in October ;)
    It takes about 2,5 hours from Busan.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours 6 days a week

Host ref number: 664916967245

Feedback (5)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Volunteer at a permaculture project in Cholla-nam-do, South Korea
Help build our glamping site and enjoy the company of our furry friends in Yongin-si, Korea