Learn about horticulture, permaculture while helping in the garden in Taranaki, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 255 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a teacher of permaculture, organic horticulture and biodynamics. I'm currently turning a one acre property from a rose garden into a permaculture food forest. I run courses from the property. I am also renovating the house, and becoming more self sufficient with food and firewood. Vegetarians and meat eaters welcome. I don't cater for any other diets such as vegan, dairy free, wheat free, fruitarians etc.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I teach organic horticulture, permaculture and biodynamics and travellers are welcome to attend classes for free when they stay. None of the jobs that need doing need experience as I will be working alongside you and you can learn anything from gardening, to building structures and plastering and landscaping. Preference is given to people who are genuinely interested in gardening/organics/permaculture/ biodynamics - no tyre kickers please.....

  • Help

    Help

    I have a one acre permaculture property in New Plymouth and need help with gardening - mulching, composting, harvesting, pruning etc. Hard landscaping such as wall building, path making and various other structures around the garden. Also need help renovating inside the house - gibbing, painting, woodwork etc. Artwork - designing signs, murals, mosaics, structure painting. I teach in the evenings so you'll be expected to cook with seasonal ingredients at least 2 nights of the week.

  • Languages spoken

    Welsh: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room - this is usually a double bed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Climbing Mount Taranaki, doing any of the walks around Taranaki including the Pouakai track, coastal walkway and Te Henui. Lots of swimming, surfing, outdoor pursuits. Art gallery, Len Lye Centre, Puke Ariki, Paritutu, back beach. There is a regular bus service downtown from just outside the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)

















Host ref number: 637741751183