Visit Sternatia in Apulia in Italy and stay with our family to learn Italian

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 126 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    HELLO, I'm Desirée, I'm an italian teacher , I' m 39 years old. I teach in a secondary state school to students with disability, and french, italian to foreigners and english too. I graduated in foreigner languages and literature at the University of Lecce in 2004, specialised in history. I love art history, I was a tour guide in the province of Lecce for some years, in Grecìa Salentina, in Otranto, in Lecce. I taught english to children in the province of Milan.
    I live in Sternatia, a small village, in South Apulia, in the province of Lecce, in the Grecìa Salentina area, where old people speak old greek language (griko) yet. For many years I've had a bed and breakfast and I hosted a lot of people. It was a very positive experience for me and my family.
    I like to read books in italian , french or english language; to listen to english pop music; to walk with friends; to dance and to swim; to travel and to visit new places; to take photos; to walk. I'm very curious and positive.
    I have two sons, Matteo is 6 years , he is a good learner, easygoing, he loves to draw, to play football, to swim and to cycle. Samuele is 19 years , he has finished the last year in the secondary school. He loves to play computer games, to play football, to swim, to watch movies. My husband is an employeer, he' s 40 years, he loves music, he is dj in his free time, he loves Harley motorcycles .
    We would like to host in may an english native speaker to practise english language at home in free conversations with me and my son Samuele, and above all to "play" through the language with Mat ( telling stories using children books, through songs, theatre, painting, art, drawing, sport). Our aim is to develop and improve our abilities of speaking and listening. I hope it very much.
    If you play a musical instrument we have got a classic guitar and a little piano and you can teach them to my son Matteo. He would be very happy, he loves music.
    Sternatia has station for trains and bus to join Lecce in only 25 minutes, Otranto and Gallipoli in 60 minutes, Galatina in 15 minutes, Leuca, Ostuni, Bari, Alberobello, Taranto, Trani, Rome, Florence, etc. There's in a village near Sternatia a modern yoga center and a swimming pool; in Sternatia you can practise volleyball, artistic dance, zumba, classic and modern dance, "pizzica" dance, female football, cycling, personal defence. I have a lot of books about italian, french and english classic and contemporary literature to read at home when you want. 


    Contact us if you are interested in my family. We prefer girls from 22 to 30 years for 4 or 5 hours the day for 5 days a week only in the afternoon from 3.00 p.m . In the morning we are at work and my sons at school. You are free in the morning and on saturdays and on sundays all day. On demand 2 or 3 evenings a month , or 1 or 2 saturday mornings to play with my little son, he is very friendly😊
    Our typical day from monday to friday is: we get up at half past six, we have breakfast. Samuele goes to Lecce by train , Matteo by a minibus, me and my husband go to work. We have lunch at 2.00 p.m. My sons do their homework and they do sport 2 days a week. At 7.30 p.m. we have dinner. On Saturdays Matteo doesn't attend the school and me and my husband don't work. On Saturday morning I clean my house. In the afternoon we do shopping. On Sunday morning we go to the church and in the afternoon we go to Lecce or Otranto for a walk or to the cinema.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I could teach you italian grammar and literature because I'm an italian, french and english teacher in a public school and I have been giving private lessons at home for many years to teenagers , adults and children. I'm an italian teacher for foreigners too (Ditals level 2 at the University of Siena)
    I could teach you to make some typical cakes ( tiramisù, nutella cakes, mimosa) pizza and other italian food (spaghetti,lasagne, pesto, parmigiana,ragù, polpette, crocchette....) . We can cook with my little son, he loves to make pizza and crocchettes.
    We cook typical food, vegetables from our countries, local meat and local fish. You can know our healthy mediterranean cooking. I would like to know more about a total vegetarian diet. My father-in-law has a large country where he cultivates many vegetables. You could help him in the morning. I cultivate vegetables in my school, it s very funny for me and my students.

  • Help

    Help

    An english native speaker to practise english language in free conversations with all of us and to "play" through the language ( through songs, music, art, painting, theatre, sport; with table games, children books, flahcards, phonetic cards, that we have got at home) with my little son and my 18 years son.
    You can use free bike to go outside to discover our village or little villages in Grecìa Salentina .
    I work in Galatina, a little town with a particular old town, a wonderful church, a large free library, ideal place to do studies about our local greek culture. You can come with me in the morning by car when my sons are at school.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, french, english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Indipendent flat with bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, balcony, sitting room. You have to clean daily only the flat for you and your clothes and keep in order your flat. If you want you can do gardening in my little garden or my balconies with my son Matteo. He is a hard worker .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can read my books in italian, french and english language and listening to italian pop music. You can use my bike , you can go running through our green countries, you can do sport in some public and private places (volleyball, swimming, female footballl, artistic, modern, classic dance, zumba, personal defence). By train you can get ,on Saturday or on Sunday, Lecce, Galatina, Otranto, Gallipoli, Leuca, Ostuni, Alberobello, Bari, Trani, Taranto. Apulia is rich of history, of magnificent gothic and baroque churches, castles, hypogeum crushers, byzantine crypts, etc. My village has greek origin. Old people speak old greek yet. Sternatia has almost 3.000 inhabitants, it's a village "a misura d'uomo", as we say in italian language. There are: a large playground, a pharmacy, a post office, a newsagent, two tobacconists, 3 clothing stores, a florist, a supermarket for food, a fishmonger, a greengrocer, many hairdressers and beauticians, 5 bars, 2 restaurants , 2 pizzerias, 2 rotisseries, 1 wine bar.
    Close to Sternatia, in Zollino, there's a modern yoga centre, a beautiful green place of peace and relax . You could get it by train or I can take you by car. I attended three years ago some lessons. The Teacher is wonderful. You can also eat vegetarian food there in the week end.
    In Lecce or in Galatina you can go to the cinema in the afternoon with my sons. Matteo loves to go to the cinema.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Sternatia by night
Sternatia park
A flat for you
Our house
Sternatia park
Rome, Saint P.
The Convento dei Domenicani in Sternatia
The historical centre in Sternatia
Sternatia countryside
Otranto
My family in Otranto

Host ref number: 637211484688