Help us on our finca in the Alpujarra Mountains in Southern Spain



Favourited 106 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    The finca, is situated at Cerro Negro, approx. 5 km from Orgiva, in the Alpujarra Mountains in Southern Spain, an area where the locals are mixed with people from many countries of whom many have come to settle for a sustainable lifestyle. The mountains are dotted with small, white villages and many farms, where a great variety of crops are cultivated on the stone supported terraced slopes, originally created by the moors. The geographic settings, with Sierra Nevada to the north and Sierra de Lujar and La Traviesa in South provides a special micro-climate. There is still plenty of water for irrigation. It´s a very popular region for visitors of all kinds and nationalities, and there are many backpackers and volunteers. The old mule paths provide a lot of possibilities for walks.

    The finca was purchased in 2000 as a ruin, the land in a mess, - totally dry, only olive trees, weeds and shrubs had survived. It had been abandoned for more that 10 years. The main house is reformed now, and used for guests, volunteer workers, family and friends visiting. The last part of the ruin, which will be my small place, is now (November 2017) almost ready for moving in. Still a lot to be done, though, on terraces and areas around the buildings. All is run by solar: electricity, hot water and also the heating except 2 wood burning stoves which serve as back-up systems. The land: Five hectars with a small wood of pine trees and many small fruit trees. Around a hundred olive trees. A big vegetable garden, all organic. Big water tank Automatic drip feed system.

    About myself

    I´m Danish, female, middle-aged and a bit more, teacher of profession, with music, English and Danish language as main subjects. I worked 13 years with younger children and teenagers in Denmark. In 1992 I moved to Costa del Sol in Spain and formed part of a company dealing with heating, cooling and solar energy. Write and speak Spanish fluently, and like to teach it as well, when time allows. Apart from Danish and English I also speak German. Spain is a challenge for many foreigners. Through my former work, providing "comfort and energy saving" on the Coast I have dealt with many ex-pats with fine properties but with very little knowledge of Spain and Spaniards. Up here, in The Alpujarra Mountains, a new door opens to Real Spain. With my long experience in this country and my interest in language, litterature and history I think, that I´m a sort of bridge-builder between cultures and nationalities. Other things: I have been practicing yoga for many years. I love singing, reading. And to walk in the mountains, the local surroundings are ideal for that.

    If you are interested, please get in touch with your contact details, a short decription of yourself, your work experience (if any) and your expectations.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Organic farming
    Solar energy and sustainable construction
    Spanish culture and history.
    Lots of music events in the area, (organized or spotaneous), theatre, dance camps. exibitions, excursions, open gardens etc. etc. Via "Alpujarrahoy" many of the events are announced.
    Exchange of language/culture via other volunteers at Cerro Negro.
    The Thursday-market in Orgiva offers connection with all sorts of people
    Singing and playing together here for those who are interested.
    Volunteers can join in for a yoga session before breakfast
    You can practice your Spanish, or pick up the basics during you stay (or your English!)

  • Help


    There are many, and very different tasks pendant:

    Preparing the soil, removing stones, weeding, sowing and planting in the vegetable garden
    Preparing the soil in two smaller herb gardens, sowing and planting
    Removing bigger weeds in the clover fields
    Clearing around the fruit trees, and molching with manure, shredded olive branches, cardboard etc
    Firewood: cutting, moving, piling.
    Rendering the stone walls with cal and fine sand inside the "new" apartment. Whitewashing in- and outside,
    Treating of beams, windows and loftbeds with wood protection (resin-based)
    Feeding the hens
    Cooking and washing the dishes
    Sorting out and reorganizing some of the tools and some building materials.
    All task will of course be chosen/adapted according to the amount of helpers available at any time and of their capabilities.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    The main house, with outdoor, roofed terrace, big salon with a wood burning stove, bedrooms, kitchen and bathroom.
    A camper
    Tents, when the weather allows. Matrasses, eiderdowns, sheets etc. are available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport and communication facilities:

    Pick-up in Orgiva on arrival.
    Walking to Orgiva is downhill. Takes approx. 1 hours and 15 minutes. Very kind and helpful neighbours. When walking down to Orgiva you can often get a lift.
    From Orgiva to Cerro Negro you can take a bus up towards Pampaneira, get off before that, and walk downwards (!) to the finca. (approx. 20-25 min)
    Wi-Fi will be connected in a certain time slot every day, and mobile phones can be charged.


    We have breakfast together at 9 and a hot meal (mainly vegetarian, meat only occasionally) at 3, with a snack in between
    Rest of meals are for each person to prepare. Food will be provided.

    Working clothes:
    Some old clothes are available (overalls, shirts, t-shirts, sweaters, no footwear) can be borrowed during the stay

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.3)

Host ref number: 631372872422