Help us put the finishing touches to our beautiful old house in Barsac, France

Country

France

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/02/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5 people. Two of our children are students and live in Bordeaux and Paris. They regularly come to spend time at home and travel as much as possible. The youngest is 7 years old. We, the parents, are management researchers. We work to create responsible management methods that take care of the living (working people, animals, environment, etc.). We bought a very beautiful and very old house two years ago. We have almost finished the renovation with ecological materials. We only have some finishing touches left: a little interior painting (bathrooms; stairs and toilets); maintenance of the shutters; arranging the surroundings; emptying the rubble.
    Our living environment is very pleasant: we live in the countryside, but 20 minutes from Bordeaux by train, 2 hours from the Pyrenees and 1 hour from the Ocean. In 2h30 we are in Paris by train. We speak English and a little Spanish and Russian and are curious about all cultures.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have varied cultural activities and are very curious. Our most regular activities are music (piano and singing) and horse riding. We will be able to make you discover the Bordeaux region with its vineyards, but above all many local initiatives that respect living things (natural viticulture; donkey breeding, sanctuary for the protection of animals; AMAP...). There will also be opportunities to go to the ocean or to the mountains according to your desires.

    We will also be able to share theoretical knowledge in management and occupational health, but this is not mandatory :)

  • Help

    Help

    We would like the volunteers to be able to give us a second wind to: paint the shutters and windows; fill a dumpster with the waste from the work; paint two bathrooms; a toilet; a stairwell. We will contribute to this outside of our working time.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private room and a bathroom. We will share the daily life that will be punctuated during the week by school and work and by our desires during the weekend.

    We'll eat together. Food will be available to the person being cared for. We will pay attention to everyone's tastes or intolerances.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will have a private room and a bathroom. The house is about 300 m2 and is very pleasant in all seasons. The garden measures 7500m2, 2/3 of which is in the orchard. It is bordered by a small stream.
    We will share the daily life that will be punctuated during the week by school and work and by our desires during the weekend. (We regularly stay to work in our home office.)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Host ref number: 629321332327