Help us to prepare a HARRY POTTER christmas in Maulicheres, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 46 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    136

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello ! We are a family of 4. We are (slowly ) refurbishing an 1890's house and we do homeschooling.

    We are actuelly looking for someone who is fan of Harry Potter's world and would help us to prepare a Harry Potter Christmas ! Lot of fun garanty ! We can host you from 1st dedember .

    Papa Hugo (49 years) is chef in the small primary school in the neighboring town. He cooks organic cuisine, fresh, local, with themed menus and vegetarians dishes.He works a lot ( writing a recipe book, preparing an important examen, working for a University Degree). He likes to discuss, crafts, woodworking and cooking! He does not like industrial food lol ! He's a smoker , but never smokes in the house.

    Mom Muriel (42) is the home-school master(!) , exploring various pedagogical approaches. She likes to chat, organize trips between families who practice home school .... she does not like to cook!

    Merlin (12 years) is a quiet boy (but talkative and passionated) . He practices football and race cycling. He's found of browsing and sailing ship ( wich is soooo easy in our area mdr ! ). His passion right now : HARRY POTTER !!

    Eliott (8 years) is more coquin.He loves antiquities , sciences ( human ones and physical ones )and play a lot with his brother! He practices Torekan Budo as well. He's sweet-tooth and loves baking cakes.

    The 3 pasts years have been very intense, we are willing now to rest and have a quiet way of life !

    This little world is living in a large house of 200m2 being renovated.

    We love being home all together, tchating, making jokes, reading books, playing board games (and a very few video games ! ) . We also love meeting our homeschoolers friends, organizing cultural kind of things. We are quite isolated in the countryside , so that we have to move away frequently.


    When weather is good we organise picnics and walks. During winter time we spend more time inside the house, cocooning and drinking herbal tea ! Hugo and Muriel are not so keen about sports, excepts walks in the country.
    The kids love playing football, tennis, swimming.

    We eat all kinf of food , we love asian food but what we eat the most is the food that Hugo cooks at school and brings back home ! It's very good food ;-)
    We accept vegetarian people with pleasure. We can adapt our menus ! If you're a smoker it's OK as long as you don't smoke inside the house, the car or near the kids.


    We love discovering new places and cultures but at the moment we can't afford to travel, so we would be happy to host people from worldwide. Our english-language is not too bad, but we need to practice often to get it to his best ! !
    ,

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will discover an unusual way of educate, the home-schooling universe, a rich associative life, lots of things about zéro-waste way of living, lots of food recipes, a nice area , friendly and interesting people and french organic wines !

  • Help

    Help

    We need a dynamic person and willing to help us in our daily lives and bring some new skills to the kids ( and us ! ) !
    Not under 20 year old please ! Even if you have looked after your little brother or cousin ... we are NOT looking for a baby-sitter. We are looking for a responsible adult who can share skills and knowledges with 8 and 12 old boys :-)

    We would like someone who participates in the linguistic development of children , talking to them in his/her language ( and in English if it is not his native tongue ) and creative ( crafts of all kinds, woodworking, music , songs , games , scientific experiments ... ) and sports ( trampoline, summer pool, outdoor games , walks to the lake ....) .

    We, the parents, are not so keen on sports, so we need someone who can pick up the slack on that point !
    If you are a teacher, (or a facilitator) or willing to become one, you are more than welcome !

    Having a driving licence is a NECESSARY condition, and if you have your own car it would be perfection. If not, we can manage to lend you our car , as far as possible. We can lend you bycycles , or you can do hitch-hikking, because there are very few buses in the area.

    We need someone tidy and autonomous :-)

    Artists, social-workers, teachers, thinkers, creative people ...welcome !
    !

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french, english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is fully functional, a big part of the renovation was made last summer. But much remains to do: shelves to ask, wallpaper to take off ... so do not be afraid by mixtures improbable colors and some holes in the walls !

    Volunteers will be welcomed into our home in a ground floor room of 20 m2. We will share the bathroom, but you'll have your own toilet and a washbasin in the bedroom. The house is fully functional, the biggest renovation that was made last summer. But much remains to do: shelves to ask, wallpaper to take off ... so do not be afraid by mixtures improbable colors and some holes in the walls !

    The house is just over 200m2. On the ground floor are the kitchen, the children's activity room andthe living room with fireplace, the parent's bedroom, a small office and the cellar, garage and a room... that currently serves to nothing ! Upstairs we find Eliott' s room, Merlin's room, a small dressing room and the attic.

    We are ok with 2 or 3 weeks stays, but if we really match we may consider a longer stay !

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are situated 1 km from the city of Riscle. It is nor very beautiful neither very animated but this is where you will find all usefull kinds of things : mail office, shops,bars, a very good indian restaurant and a great pizza truck.
    10 kms away you will find Nogaro, with the famous car-racing circuit where many animations take place all around the year. This is where Papa Hugo works.
    15 kms away there is an biggest town : Aire sur Adour. This is where you will find an organic shop. And this is wher Grand Merlin goes to his sports activities.
    30 kms away,there is a beautifil little town : Marciac. Each summer takes place a very famous Jazz Festival. This place is more lively than any other ones, with many involved in organic and ecologic projects. There is an important group of workawayers in that area, we can easily handle to organise some meetings.
    50 kms away is where you will find biggest towns : Pau, Auch, %Mont de Marsan. Lively places where we go for our cultural meetings.
    We are 80 kms away from Lourdes. Despite the religious aspect, wich you may like or not, it is a very beautiful place to discover.

    There are some archeological places all around, as well as the birth-place village of D'Artagnan. We are close to Cathares area.

    1.30 driving you'll find the Atlantic Ocean, and the Pyrenées Mountains.

    2h driving you get to Toulouse or Bordeaux.

    During summer time the area is lively, but in winter it is very, very, veeeeery quiet ! If you want to party, don't come in winter !
    Local gastronomy is Foie Gras, Duck meat, and Armagnac.

    Area is hilly and farmy, with corn fields, sunflowers fields ans vineyards. There's few forests, and rivers and small lakes .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 626313727974