Experience village life in Geaune, and lend a hand around my house, Aquitaine, France

Country

France

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am retired and live alone, except when one or the other of my four children visit. I am an English graduate, and have just completed an MA at Cambridge Art School on Children's Book Ill;lustration. I divide my time between painting, drawing and writing. At present I am putting finishing touches to a novel, and revising the illustrated children's book which was my final project on my course. The house is surrounded by open countryside: rolling hills, mostly given over to maize. There is an open-air swimming pool.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Geaune, the nearest village, has one small supermarket and two bars; the villagers are friendly, but don't speak much English, so this would provide an immersive situation in which to improve one's French conversation. There are plenty of books, mostly fiction or on Art, and a studio with views over fields. The house would be ideal for someone who likes painting or writing, and enjoys a degree of peace and solitude.

  • Help

    Help

    I am convalescing from a hip operation, and could do with some help around the house -- sharing cooking and cleaning -- and in the garden. The garden is mainly to grass and I have a ride-on mower, but I have a field where I grow vegetables, and a swimming pool that needs some maintenance, and there are always weedy borders and brambles and hedges that need trimming. It would help if my guest enjoys this kind of work, rather than seeing it as a chore.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The guest would have his or her own bedroom, with a double bed and their own bathroom with toilet and shower. I would expect them to buy their own drinks, and you can make a contribution towards the cost of the food. We have a washing machine, so they could launder their own bedding and clothes as necessary.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nearby places to visit include the elegant city of Pau and the fascinating town of Lourdes. The mountains are a two hours drive away, as are the long sandy beaches of the Atlantic coast.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 624548476171