Help to entertain the kids and get our house and garden ready to sell in Bolsover, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 163 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/11/2019

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have some availability for a short placement right now!!

    We are a home schooling family of 4, looking for someone to come and help out a little around the house. We also need to decorate the house ready to sell and make a nicer garden. We have 2 children, aged 9 and 7 who like to play games, do craft, play music and have stories read to them and just chat to new people. We have recently started to rent out 2 of the rooms in the house, and it's possible we may need some help with this too.

    We are very friendly and love to meet new people. It is essential that you like children as we like to have other children round sometimes too. Our kids wake up around 7am most mornings so we are generally up around then. We are currently trying the keto diet and not eating carbs so if you are into that and like cooking it would be amazing.

    I have a business in essential oils so a bonus if you are interested in oils is that I can teach you while you are here 😁

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like to go out into the local countryside a lot and we are more than happy if you want to join us on day trips. Beki likes to go out biking or running on trails in the evenings and Neil likes computer games or watching sport, or occasionally canoeing. You would be welcome to join on these activities.
    We hope that we can also help to improve your English.

  • Help

    Help

    We need someone who can look after the children when we work (mostly from home) but also we need rooms painting, gardening doing and general tasks to make the house look better.

    We would love to experience different food, if anyone wanted to offer to cook that would be great, especially if the kids could help with this. If anyone can help on the garden that would be great, as we are not managing to keep on top of things. Neil is busy converting a VW Crafter into a campervan. It is a massive project and it is really helpful if we can have help entertaining the kids whilst Neil works on this. We are hoping that you will integrate into our family life, but can allow plenty of time to do your own thing as well.

    Anyone who can play fun games to help teach languages will be a hit. And we love music in our house so any musical talent is always welcome. We have a piano and Georgia is learning to play the violin and Harrison is learning the drums. Anyone who can help the kids with their music will be very welcome. A drum player who could help Harrison would be amazing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spare bedroom upstairs that can be used for this. It will have a shared bathroom and you can integrate within the family home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are quite relaxed, but offer a family environment so would prefer to not have anti-social behaviour.
    We live very close to Bolsover Castle, which is nice to have a look at.
    Bolsover is a small town with a few shops. There is a bus service to Chesterfield, and from there you can get trains or buses to other destinations. It is much quicker to drive places.
    We are just 20 minutes from Sherwood forest and clumber park area which are beautiful to walk, run or cycle.
    We are just 25 minutes away from Chatsworth house and then the peak district is beyond that.
    We are five minutes drive from Scarcliffe woods, one of our favourite walks.
    We are roughly 35 minutes away from Sheffield and Derby and Nottingham cities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Us in front of Bolsover castle
Taken from in front of Bolsover castle. This is the same view from our street
Our house, a work in progress
The kids ice skating
The view of the castle from the bottom of Bolsover




















Host ref number: 615582451991

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more