Learn about Canadian farming and help out with the animals and markets in the Ottawa valley

Country

Canada

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2020

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Katie and Matt started our farming venture in 2010, and we raise sheep and chickens (and sometimes pigs), and grow vegetables (in partnership with another farm) for about 40 families through our program and for farmer's market sales. We have 100 acres, and most of it is used for sheep pasture, hay and a small bit of grain production to feed our animals. We believe in helping new farmers learn tricks of the trade, and at the same time we believe that we never stop learning, too. We like meeting new people from all over, and sharing and having fun.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach you a lot about Canadian customs, the history of life in the Ottawa valley, and you'll get to eat some very traditional Canadian food - in addition to fresh, seasonal vegetables and meat raised on our farm.

  • Help

    Help

    Come and help on our mixed (non-certified) organic farm. We have a small vegetable CSA operation, and we raise sheep and chickens. We have a fencing project we're working on this summer, as well as building more raised beds in our greenhouse so we can start growing winter greens. You'll learn about taking care of sheep, irrigation techniques, help to plant, weed, harvest and pack vegetables for our customers, and maybe even help out at our farmers market booth.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a camper trailer with two double beds in it for accommodation, and while it has a fridge and stove for making your coffee/tea and cereal for breakfast, main meals of lunch and dinner are in the house with us. There is also a living room in the basement of the house for your use, and showers are in the house as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have bicycles available for your use, and we're close to the beach and a provincial park if you want to go swimming or camping on days off (you would need your own tent for that). We are located a short drive from the scenic villages/towns of Arnprior,Pakenham, and Almonte, and we'd be happy to drive you there for some sight-seeing or a pub night occasionally. We're also only a 20 minute drive from the suburbs west of Ottawa, where you can take public transportation to downtown Ottawa for a chance to visit museums, Parliament Hill, or any of the many festivals that Ottawa offers. If you're more into country living, though, we also have a bonfire pit in the backyard and we can have fires and roast marshmallows.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 599521356546