Farm with 40 horses on the hills of Tuscany, Italy looking for help in house!!



Favourited 743 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    Hi! We are Sheena (64) and Justine (33), and we have a beautiful family-run 8-hectare riding school, situated in the eastern part of Tuscany, between Arezzo and Siena.

    We have about 40 horses and ponies, about 7 adorable Labradors, and 2 stable cats!

    In the summer we have many children coming for the weekly camps, horse riding and doing all sorts of activities. During the rest of the year we have riding lessons and rides out in the beautiful hills around us. We also have a kitchen garden.

    We sometimes go on longer horse rides up to a few days long, or we go to competitions with our ponies and children.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    -You will be able to go on rides on our beautiful horses and ponies (we have Connemara ponies which are also suitable for small-medium sized adults), or we can provide lessons if you are willing to learn (we ask you to help with some extra hours in exchange).
    -The dogs are always a major source or relaxation through just need to stroke and cuddle them and they love it!
    - You will be able to learn Italian or English. We are a bilingual family.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    In your free time you can ride or take lessons in exchange for some extra hours!
    We don't expect any experience with horses, but we guess that if you chose us it is because you love animals. Our dogs stay in the house, so sometimes it gets a bit crowded... :)
    There are horses all around the house, so you will hear them at night and see them from your bedroom window...

    Any experience in general woodwork, or painting, or permaculture, or cooking, or IT computer ...will be definitely a bonus. We would really appreciate also some help in renovating our website, or in keeping the accountancy up to date.

    - In the SUMMER... we need help mainly with the summer camps: helping the children to get their ponies ready, clean the house, the garden and swimming pool, look after the dogs, cook lunch (on average we are about 20 people eating from Monday to Friday), organise afternoon activities with the children, and if there is more time, some general maintenance work in the stables or in the horses paddocks and gardening.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We have two shared bedrooms available, they are both very light and spacious and have shared bathroom with us (in the house there are 2 bathrooms, one upstairs one downstairs).
    We also have a sweet little wooden bungalow in the garden (the bathroom is in the house). There is also plenty of space if you want to come with a tent.
    We usually eat all together, and we try to take it in turns cooking. If we have lessons until late we really appreciate if you can start the cooking. We eat meat, but not that often, so there is usually plenty of vegetables for vegetarians or vegans.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can visit some of the most astonishing beauties of Tuscany starting from Florence (60 min by train), Siena (40 min by car), Arezzo (20 min by car), Assisi (1 hr by car), Cortona, and so many more places that you maybe haven't ever heard of!
    In our little village (1 km away) there is a little train station with trains going to Arezzo 5-6 times a day or more (only 1 on Sundays!), and from Arezzo you can move to all other cities. Nonetheless we go to Arezzo by car at least once a week, so you can always get a lift with us.
    We are surrounded by nature so you can hike as much as you want.
    There are thermal baths not too far away (30 min by car), we can try to arrange going together.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 595576415754