Join a family in the Forest of Dean, UK; and help with decorating and outdoor projects

Country

United Kingdom

updated   Last minute

Favourited 190 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    184

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 57 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family living in the picturesque Royal Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England. We are looking to find someone to help and share in our busy lives. We are also keen to learn to speak European languages, for our summer road trip.
    Rowan is learning German at school, Gavin is learning French and Dutch. I would like to learn German and French.
    Could you help?

    We have had the great pleasure of hosting a number of workaways. Everyone has brought something different to our family and we are grateful for the time they've spent with us. Many remain close friends.

    We are a family of 6; my husband and I used to be nurses, but I now dedicated my time to our children's education and my husband works for a medical company as is often away on business. We have 3 children still at home; a 24 year old girl, 13 year old boy and 10 year old girl, and our second eldest daughter, who is 21, is away at Cardiff University studying Radiography. As one of our children is transgender it is imperative that anyone staying with us is happy with a household who welcomes diversity and not bigotry.


    We have an very friendly lap dog (Cavalier King Charles Spaniel) and a cat, and over the autumn and winter months we support a local dog charity by fostering dogs whilst they are awaiting rehoming. Part of the fostering requires time to socialise and walk the dogs, to assist in their rehabilitation.

    Our youngest children have recently started to go to school, although they were Home Educated until last year, when they decided they wanted to try school.

    Over the summer, as a family we spend a number of our weekends re-enacting the War of the Roses (English medieval history) . This involves camping in medieval tents in the grounds of castles and historic buildings. Dressing up in authentic costume and doing crafts such as making chain mail, cooking over a fire and spinning and weaving.

    I enjoying processing wool from raw fleece to spun yarn, and knitting and crocheting. I also enjoying making soap and cooking and baking, and am happy to share my these skills if you are interested.

    We would like someone (non-smoker) that is proactive and enthusiastic, to come and share our busy lives, helping with the usual household tasks such as some cooking cleaning, tidying, washing etc and playing with the children in the evening and weekends. We have a couple of projects we would appreciate help with; decorating a number of rooms and repurposing part of the garden to grow vegetables (this would require some digging) ,together with walking with our dog and foster dogs..
    You would be welcome to join us with our family trips and activities or have time to explore if you prefer.

    There are buses to Gloucester and Monmouth. Trains go from Lydney, Gloucester or Hereford. We also have an ebike available to assist with your mobility

    We look forward to you being part of our family, sharing your culture and interests with us too.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We hope that you would enjoy becoming part of the family.
    We do not normally keep to strict hours preferring that you just join in with us.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like our volunteer to be Enthusiastic and inspiring.
    Willing to join us helping to make busy family life a little easier and bring a new dynamic to our household.
    We would like someone who is happy to share the daily tasks of running a busy house:-
    Some cooking
    Cleaning /tidying
    Washing/putting clothes away,
    Sharing time with the children, when they are not in school.
    Play games.
    Could you help us learn your language?
    We would love for you to share your interests with us, we very much hope that the experience will be great fun for all of us.

    Our children have varied interests.

    Amy is back from University having studied Biochemistry, and currently transitioning to female.
    Rowan loves anything computer related but also has a passion for board and card games of all sorts; his particular favourites are Minecraft, Pokemon and a card came called Dominion.
    Eleanor loves being with people, she loves sharing games and art and crafts; her passion is baking cakes (preferably with blue icing) she would love to learn to bake your favourite foods.


    We are particularly looking for someone to help with either:
    -Re decorating the house.
    This would mainly be painting walls but may include some painted woodwork.
    -Repurposing part fo the garden to vegetable beds.
    This would involve digging and basic building skills.
    Walking our Dog


    We will:-
    Share meals with you. Two of our children are dairy and gluten free, so we used to accommodating special dietary needs
    Treat you as a member of the family for your stay with us.
    Take you with us on our trips and outings (if you want to come)
    Facilitate what you would like to do while you are with us (drop and pick you up from the station).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a double sized bedroom on the first floor of the house.
    We share a family bathroom with shower and bath, with 2 additional toilets in the house.
    You will have access to the internet with good speeds.
    You are welcome to share one of the 3 computers in the house.
    We are happy to share our bikes to assist with your mobility.
    If you bring a cars it would need to be parked on the road.
    Regular family meals - we already cook gluten and dairy-free meals and can accommodate other dietary needs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Forest of Dean and Wye Valley with its fantastic scenery is just outside our front door.
    There are many ways to enjoy it walking, climbing, cycling and canoeing on the river.
    Our village has a small bus service, but we are out and about in the local and wider area a lot, and would love to share with you some of our wonderful sights.
    There are buses to the local towns of Coleford, Gloucester, Hereford and Monmouth.
    Trains to Bristol Birmingham, Oxford and London are possible.

    We have had the great pleasure of hosting a number of workaways. Everyone has brought something different to our family and we are grateful for the time they spent with us. Many will remain close friends.

    Our hope is to find a volunteer that wants to become part of our busy family.
    We would love you to share your interests, hopes and dreams with us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Monuments to visit.
Trees to have lunch in!
Lots of castles to visit.
We love camping and Dad plays the guitar.
Ponds to enjoy
Trampolining in the rain. What a view




Host ref number: 587136795933