Come and share our renovation experience in the stunning Dordogne, France

Country

France

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/09/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are a warm welcoming and friendly family living in an old winery in the stunning Dordogne region of France, 1 hour from Bordeaux and 30 minutes from Bergerac and St Emillion.

    We miss our family in the UK and my son would really benefit from the company of younger people and the company and wisdom of older peoplee. So all ages would be wonderful and warmly welcomed.

    Our extended family consists of one diva Labradoodle,three gorgeous geese and two cats.

    Our property sits within a beautiful vineyard and offers both peace and tranquility of the countryside along with walking distance to the large, local market town, with its busy bars and restaurants

    With local access to lush vineyards and outstanding wine producing chateaux, we are looking for all levels of help, from gardening/ clearing out barns, to labouring and skilled trades, joiners, bricklayers, painters, builders etc to help with our extensive building renovation.

    We are not slave drivers and you will have lots of time off to explore and enjoy the french culture, with weekends conpletely free!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Anyone who gets to be lucky enough to enjoy time spent in France, will benefit enormously from immersing themselves in the French culture.

    While working with us you will have the chance to develop your French language skills and spend time with the warm and very very friendly locals. Observe the local Vineyard workers as they preen, trim and and nurture the vines, right in front of the house. Observe the local red/white/rose wine production (a15 minute walk away)

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people of all ages, families, couples or single, to help with the renovation of our large old winery. We need joiners, carpenters, bricklayers, general builders, painters or and just as important, general non skilled help with cleaning, clearing barns, painting, removing old plasterwork, or, working alongside my husband supporting him as he works. As he is a skilled artisan, you will benefit from learning a variety of new skills from him as you work.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer a one bedroom apartment that accommodates up to Two people

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in walking and cycling distance to a flourishing old French market town that boasts a vast range of bars and restaurants. A twenty minute drive away and you are in Begerac, 30 minutes and your in the gorgeous Wine producing St Emilion, one hour and you enter the renowned UNESCO city of Bordeaux.

    The local train station with lines running into Bordeaux and the rest of Europe, is a five minute drive and 20 minute walk from the property, and of course, we are always at hand to offer lifts into town and the other tourist areas, including, the local river beach (a 15 minute cycle ride away), canoeing down the river Dordogne and swimming and sunbathing at the local tourist lake with bar/ restaurant and sandy man made beach, perfect for relaxing after a hard days work.

    If you are int golf then the world renowned Chateau de Vigiers is a 15 minute drive away. Boasting one of the best golf courses in the world as well as a Michelin star restaurant and brasserie.

    Or, feel free to just lounge round our pool and enjoy the complete tranquility of the French countryside after a hard days work.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Paradise!
Host ref number: 576478672237