Explore the San Francisco Bay Area from a beautiful setting while helping with gardening and minor carpentry, California, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 189 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    59  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I could use a very occasional hand in completing my house remodel in Walnut Creek, California (suburb 30 miles from San Francisco). I would welcome the sharing of cooking and meals, however since assistance would be needed so rarely, I would hope for some participation in food costs. Ideally you would have your own preoccupations while here, free to conduct them in an amenable environment.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I was an architect (now retired) and a builder and I was raised on a farm. So I possess a fair number of design/construction skills that may benefit others. Cultural Exchange? Definitely! I welcome all people, from all countries/cultures/religions with just about any outlooks. I like to think of my place as a forum for sharing and learning. Until now I've managed with just occasional assistance. However now I wish to speed things up so that I, too, can get out and travel before I get too old LOL.

  • Help

    Help

    I would like to find a vegan person to cook vegan/vegetarian for me and other Workawayers.

    No construction skills would be required. You would be needed in helping when things are a bit heavy for just myself (rarely) and to occasionally assist in matters that require an additional hand. (Actually I have only one good-working hand). My three outstanding interior projects - though understand that I wish to do most of the work alone - consist of: 1) finish carpentry (trim at upgraded doors & windows), 2) interior painting of walls and ceilings, and 3) installing new floating vinyl flooring (atop existing hardwood). Also, though optional, I would like to start a vegetable garden this year. That is something Workawayers could take on more as their "own project", whilst I am occupied with the interior remodeling tasks. Also optional, Workawayers could attempt, again mostly on their own, the repair of some outside patio furniture.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (or French)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You could have your own bedroom and unshared bathroom, tho perhaps instead take another bedroom, while using a second bathroom off of the hall. Negotiable.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As you probably know, the San Francisco Bay Area is a treasure, both urban and for nature, and I'm in the middle of it! You can/we can do many things to explore. I have a station wagon. I cycle a lot (bike), swim and eat vegetarian/vegan. I'd love to start a vegetable garden this year! Might you entertain repairing some broken-down wooden patio furniture? In the final result...work as much as you want. At minimum, lend me a hand from time to time on tasks which require more than one person.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    maybe 4 hours/day, 2 to 3 days/week... negotiable

in front of El Capitan (me in yellow shirt)
Mt. Diablo in the distance
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
































Host ref number: 562343864299