Join a simple, healthy family life. Help in the garden and home in La Creche, France

Country

France

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/03/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are a French family (Laurence and Ivan) with 4 children aged 23 (workawayer) 22, 19 (both students in Paris and Chambéry) and 16 (a schoolgirl still at home). The boys are not often at home, sometimes at weekends. I feel the house is quite empty at times!
    We live in a small typical village in a beautiful countryside, lots of stone walls around here. The house is ancient but renovated like the studio where you will be accommodated. We would like to share our beautiful environment with you in return for some outdoor help and cultural exchange!!! We live in a quiet big village 15 km far from Niort. You can discover the French way of life and have some nice time around here! Laurence is rather available to help you with your French or with lifts if needed. We love travelling mostly in Europe as for now.
    We wish to help you discover more about our way of life which is simple and healthy!
    Animal lovers are required!
    I would be delighted to learn new recipes without meat and vegan as well!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live a simple and healthy life, we love travelling and hiking, we are keen on sports: cycling (mountain bike), nordic walking, running, yoga, etc... We have a swimming-pool which can be used any time as soon as the sun heats the water ! We love communicating in English with foreigners and we like exchanging ideas. We can discuss in French or English (a little bit of Spanish as well!) just as you like. Laurence is an English teacher and Ivan uses English at work quite often. We like animals, music, nature. I am a volunteer in education, I love singing in a choir and yoga (plus meditation) !
    Our eldest son is a workawayer in South America at the moment and we wish to welcome foreign people so that they feel at home!
    We love playing cards and going to the cinema sometimes or doing outdoor activities either cultural or related to sports in general.

  • Help

    Help

    As Ivan works all day long I (Laurence) need some help with gardening activities, weeding, lawn mowing, trimmings and planting. I plan to start an organic vegetable garden but I need help. I also need help to clean shutters, terraces and swimming pool! It could be great if someone could paint a few wooden beams and help in the house as well! There is no real hard work and no real skills required!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can accomodate two people at a time in a shared studio with own bathroom, it is completely new ! We provide a single bed and a sofa for two. We would appreciate you to keep the place clean when you leave! The studio is situated in the yard opposite the kitchen window (just a few metres from the main house). Ideal if you want some autonomy.
    I cook meals everyday but please notice that we don't eat meat and our daughter is vegan so vegans are not a problem for us! We eat organic food most of the time and we appreciate a glass of wine sometimes but we don't smoke and would appreciate non-smokers!!!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can collect you from the train station in Niort or Saint Maixent l'école and of course if you want to visit La Rochelle or Poitiers you can take the train (45mn both). You can visit the Marais Poitevin with us and we have bikes for use if you wish to visit the countryside (lots of nice paths around here).
    We live in a rural area but not isolated at all. The village we live in has a population of about 400 inhabitants and the small town nearby has a total of about 5,400 inhabitants. The countryside is really beautiful in spring and summer with rivers and ancient monuments like wash houses.
    We love walking and there are many nice places to discover around here.
    Our place is very quiet!
    If you wish to visit further you can take the train to go to Nantes or Bordeaux. As for us we often go to the seaside at weekends when the weather is fine so you would be welcome to accompany us!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 558488383789