Beautiful family farm in Moquegua, Perú

Country

Peru

Favourited 221 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    56.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5 and own a small farm in Moquegua, Perú. Currently, my husband Alberto, my son Carlos and I (Maria) are living on the farm. We cultivate chirimoya, mango, grapes, alfalfa, figs, and more, as well as raise goats and guinea pigs. The farm is approximately 5 acres with a great view of the beautiful Moquegua.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will share a simple, farm style home with our family and have the opportunity to eat and prepare traditional Peruvian food including fresh goat cheese and cuy (guinea pig)! Also, we are a Spanish speaking household so travelers will be able to practice their Spanish.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for helping hand(s) to take care of the farm (weeding, harvesting, etc.) and the goats (cut alfalfa, take them in/out to pasture, etc.).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Travelers will have a bed in a room just off the kitchen that we have set up specifically for volunteers. The rest of the family sleeps in separate living quarters. We have a full bathroom with a shower and toilet located just outside our home.

    Volunteers will help prepare and eat breakfast, lunch and dinner daily on the farm.

    NOTE: We eat as a family and if you have special dietary needs you will need to communicate that with us upon arriving and possibly go to the market to buy and prepare your own food at the house. We typically have more than enough veggies in the house to accommodate vegetarian diets, but you will need to take responsibility for your own meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The city center of Moquegua is approximately 10 minutes away by car or 15 minutes by bus. You can visit the plaza, market, city look-out and more during your free time. Also, Moquegua is known for its' Pisco and there is a famous "Ruta de Pisco."

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)









Host ref number: 558292571888