Help tweak an Eco-renovation in the coastal village of St Jean le Thomas, France

Country

France

Favourited 95 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/01/2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am currently tweaking a coastal town-house Eco-renovation I developed a number of years ago.
    I have a Diploma in Applied Permaculture and a Masters in Environmental Architecture and I try to apply these to my renovation work. St Jean is a historic village with a tenth century church on the Bay of Mont St Michel (World Heritage Site) and is very popular with visitors wishing to cross the bay on foot to Mont St Michel and those wishing to forage for shellfish.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With a Diploma in Applied Permaculture, a Masters degree in Environmental Architecture from the Centre for Alternative Technology, I will be able to educate volunteers about various aspects of the environmental issues involved in managing and developing places. Opportunities to speak French and English. This is a very historically interesting area. The village has a few local commerces.

  • Help

    Help

    I am constantly trying to improve things on site from an environmental perspective and would require help with a variety of tasks. Currently tweaking the residence which was an old shop and bar in former times. At the moment the main focus is on the little garden and out buildings as the main house has already been substantially Eco-renovated using hemp, lime, recuperated materials and lots of insulation. So volunteers would benefit if they are interested in ecological building practices.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room in a shared house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public Bus Stop between Avranches and Granville 100 m. Train direct to Paris from Granville. Beautiful coastal and country paths.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 554247154127