Live in the heart of Perigord chateau country, help with gardening, landscaping, and home refurbishing, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 76 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My partner and I , V Jody Perret recently moved to the Dordogne, where we have a small restaurant. We have been chefs, farmers, and hoteliers for over 20 years in Canada, Spain, Central America, and now France. We have a house in the countryside about 5 minutes by car from Domme, which is one of the country's most beautiful villages. The house is on a 1.6 hectre property that needs lots of help gardening and landscaping. In addition, we have the house that requires some renovation work, painting, etc, and a building in another nearby village we are renovating. We have a newly renovated private bedroom available for workawayers.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The region is deep and rich with history, and we have a unique site that was a cave village. The two of us have studied anthropology, history, and archaeology. There is a lot of culture both at our home and in the surrounding villages and towns, including Sarlat. We are also chefs and gardeners, and there's the chance to learn a whole lot about gardening, food, and food origins. We live amidst castles, manor houses, medeival towns, and the Dordogne River with opportunities for swimming and kayaking. We speak English, French, and Spanish.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have opportunities in gardening, cleaning, painting, and some building renovations/cleanup at a beautiful location in the Perigord region of France, near the Dordogne River. We also need help taming vegetation and restoring an ancient troglodyte village as well as maintaining a garden and small vineyard. There is almost 2 hectares of land, much of it forested. There's a chance to learn about landscaping, gardening, food, and history! We also have a second building in a nearby village that needs a bit of cleanup, gardening, painting, etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am a native English speaker who is interested in sharing my language with others. I have taught English professionally. I also speak Spanish and am learning French. I am constantly trying to improve my abilities in both of theses languages.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private or shared room in our house, near two villages with all facilities, shopping, cafes, etc., about 12 minutes from the Town of Sarlat, a regional centre.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in the heart of the Valley of the Dordogne, a huge tourism destination, and there is a lot to do amongs beautiful scenery, restaurants, pastry shops, and typical southern French living. The Dordogne River is famous for swimming, kayaking, and canoeing. The area is also rich with hiking and nature trails.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    An area with beautiful views high above the Dordogne valley.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Depends on size and temperament of pet and bearing in mind that I have three male dogs, 2 Labradors and a Cane Corso.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 546885179391