Come and help around the house and garden in Cambridge, NY, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Workawayers! I have a property in a very picturesque part of upstate, NY. Mostly farmland and lovely views of the Green Mountains and Berkshires. I work full time and do the farming and gardening part time. I would love some help!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn pretty much what you would like to learn here. I have everything from painting, to fencing, to animal care, to building projects. I can teach soapmaking and gardening as well. Last night we made peach cordial from peaches on my backyard trees.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a backyard greenhouse that was started last year and would love to have it finished. It is almost done, but not quite! I also need my house painted... If anyone is interested. Not the whole thing at once. I am just working on sections that need it the most.
    Gardens need tending both veggie and flower.
    Fences always need work. Mostly electric so not hard work, just time consuming. And weed whacking under the electric.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a 3 bed, 3 bath house. Helpers stay in the house with me. I do not cook every night so helpers may have to take turns cooking or fend for themselves. It works out well for all as you are just asked to make yourself at home.:)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am 3 hours from NYC and Boston, 35 minutes from Saratoga Springs which is a very artsy and active small city. It brings people from around the world in the summertime for horse racing and cultural events. There are several concert venues around, Saratoga Performing Arts Center, The Egg in Albany, Times Union Center. You will be close to the Clark Art Institute, in Williamstown MA, Mass MoCA in North Adams MA. There are many smaller bodies of water in the Adirondacks in addition to larger ones like Lake George, The Sacandaga Lake, and Saratoga Lake. The green mountains, the Berkshires, and Catskill Mountain Ranges all an hour or less also provide amazing hiking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have a Verizon WiFi connection with a max of 22 Gigs per month. You are welcome to use that. You can do most things other than gaming and not run out of Wifi with that.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have had two campers on the property and have plenty of space for that. They both parked in a field, far enough from the house to have a space of their own and close enough to run a lead cord. I have a few hundred feet of lead cord. There is no facility here for water or cleaning a camper septic, but you would have access to the house as well.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have two dogs and can accept another dog. Cats are difficult as I am not sure how my dogs might react. Anything in a cage is fine. Rabbit, gerbil etc.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 - 4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 535342259361