Help with DIY, fencing repair, animal care, & gardening small old farm in Mayenne France




Favourited 386 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

Join now to contact this host
  • Description


    PLEASE NO MORE PROMISE TO DO HOUSE WORK BUT DON'T DO ANY, or I DON'T DO DIRTY WORK PRINCESSES we had enough of those in the last few years & frankly with my health i am just not in the mood to put up with any more.


    please NO more workaways who arrive too tired to start work on day 1 & 2 then do a few hours work on the next day then take a whole day off to go out & then leave, i am not a "freebie" hotel...

    We want you & us to enjoy your stay & have fun, that's the whole point right?

    as you can probably tell we have had a mixed experience with workaways, some are still friends, we email & i get Xmas cards etc from them, some we would gladly have back anytime, 1 workaway pair got married from our other house, several have begun romances,

    BUT some workawayers who came we really wish had read the profile properly because then they never would have chosen to visit as they clearly don't suit here & this causes a lot of stress to everyone, i would rather put off a workaway then have a miss-match again.......

    SO - AT LAST - ON TO THE ACTUAL PROFILE ????????????????


    "we" are my sons 27 24 & 21
    8 dogs, 6 horses & me, I am a late 50's semi disabled woman.
    my sons speak french as they went to school here

    my younger son is at uni doing languages he also speaks italian, a little german & some japanese

    my 24;y old son is autistic, he is not incapable of helping he just needs things explaining well & he can be sensitive emotionally,

    i have a degenerative spinal condition - just my bad luck, thats why my sons & I need some bodies to help out;
    most people think i am nuts as with my health the doctors didn't expect me to still be walking but lets just say I am stubbourn.

    the house is an old stone farmhouse, it needs a lot of work - i don't expect workaways to be free builders, i get in the real thing for the technical stuff - the builder I have here is happy to let workaways 'have a go' at things depends on the job & the workawayer..

    workawayers are asked to help sort the gardens & do minor DIY like painting or junk shifting, the eternal fence repair p & the dreaded HOUSEWORK (AaaaRrrrrGggggg run away!!!!!).

    The property is a smallish old stone farmhouse, a 2nd very small stone house & an even smaller stone house
    (a bit like house russian dolls!)
    Plus stone barns, stables, huge cow shed 2 hectares of land.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    they can learn about dogs, get as fit as they want to by walking the dogs or riding a cycle or jogging or how they like,
    learn some DIY skills, learn about horses, take a ride out depends on their skill level I have 1 BIG old horse he worked 20y in a riding school so he knows his job, the only 3 other ridable are my mare, a small pony & a small mule, I may get another ridden horse if another rescue comes up.

    we speak english in the house and have english TV and books, so the main language they can practice is english, we do also speak french & have french DVDs and a french keyboard, the area is good for tourist attractions, and there are local markets bars etc where the workaway can practice their french,

    the village is 1.7 kilometres away, its pretty several lakes, lots of walks etc, a sports ground, library, bars, restaurant etc

  • Help


    Mum (me) i adore my animals & detest housework, to me it rates with death & taxes as unavoidable but i don't have to like it!
    if i can be doing anything else i will, but it has to be done somehow.

    Because of my asthma & my disability, i can't carry a lot or push wheelbarrows, or dig the garden or do lots of stuff a lot, i walk slowly & drop things & I am quite often in pain, all this makes me slower than I was to do the work & the house, I also get tired much quicker than I used to, if i get too tired i get sick so i have to be a bit of a baby with myself sometimes, i spent 18 days in hospital one winter & it took months for me to get going again.

    because of these health issue problems I would just love someone who could help out with the work & the house to give me more time to do the jobs I have to do. during winter my sons have to do a lot of the work outside & in the house, so workaways give them a couple of summer months to enjoy themselves & take it a bit easier too.

    the land is not big but there is still loads needed to do & never enough hours a day to do it,

    But its not a boot camp, you are on a working holiday with the emphasis on holiday, we usually find time to have a few outings & if get some extra work done with your help then we are all happy!

    HOW I WORK IT IS :- YOU do an AVERAGE of 4 hours a day if you want to do all morning & do your own stuff later or work evenings with time to yourself in the day thats fine just so long as I know

    if you want extra days off to go exploring then work a few extra hours on other days,
    meals are included except when you are away for the day, but i don't mind if you take a sandwich away with you & if you want to come back late at night thats fine - just be quiet ok?

    sorry to be so blunt but a good friend of mine who has been a host to many workaways has had neg feedback left recently & has stopped being a host, i myself want to put off workaways who might not like it here, there is always more asking than places so if you are considering me ask questions to make sure what you get is what you expected ok?

    a previous workaway left feedback saying i was a good cook, i wouldn't go that far, i am competant & i can cook, indian, chinese, mexican, irish & british food & do a brill pudding!, but mostly due to a limited budget most meals are more along the lines of school canteen than restaurant, but well no one has starved yet .....

    ....BUT... i use the microwave to cook things like pasta & rice, as well as some other foods, if you are phobic about eating microwaved food & think you will grow 2 heads or get cancer from the 'radiation'.... then switch off the computer you are using, chuck away your mobile phone & avoid air travel, as all of them have more radiation than any microwave food.. get over it, get real & don't come here if you can't handle it.

    i can be very flexible about visits out, if enough workawayers want to go to the same place & share fuel costs i will take them/bring them back which ever plan works out best.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, french, some italian, a little german + a little japanese, - my sons speak good french mine is awful

  • Accommodation


    depending on if our mix of workaways is mixed sex, couples, families, the workaway accom varies,

    minimum is a folding bed in a curtain off area in my sons shared upstairs flat (for guys) or my 3rd son's room if he is away.
    Their flat has its own shower room.

    There is a tiny loft room. Shares shower room with guys flat.
    A 2 berth caravan out in the barn with washroom & loo. I used it to live in while we did early renovating.

    When they are ready we will have 2 small houses to use..... Probably not til late 2020.

    there is a small pool,a sit out & BBQ area in the garden choose tree shady or full sun whatever suits you, expect to be pestered by ANY OR ALL OF OUR DOGS wanting a ball throwing, trying to get on your knee, sit by your feet or generally requesting to be fussed.

    everyones washing gets done when the machine is on, put yours in the basket & i will do it when i do ours,

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Anyone interested i must insist :-
    THEY ARE CAREFULL WHERE THEY SMOKE, i am asthmatic. i am ok with someone taking a smoke outside either on the terrace or on the drive away from all the buildings.

    we do have a car so i can collect/ drop off visitors from local stations or do an odd day out, or we can loan you a bicycle.

    Don't forget your health & personal insurance, you are not covered in any way on my insurance, for UK residents get the form from the post office to say you have UK national health cover or france will expect you to pay up front & claim it back - also it only covers for medical expenses, not ambulance or the B&B side of hospital, so get extra cover if you can, if you believe YOU wouldn't ever need any think again! a workaway came off his own bicycle one summer, he had minor injuries not badly hurt but if he had been going at speed or in traffic?????????

    & please if you have any reccuring or chronic health problems do let me know, 3 times now i have had workaways go sick with conditions they suffered from regularly, i do understand sickness & i can accomodate it but i also need to know what to expect & if you are likely to not be able to work i need to know as my weakness & conditions are why i need help!

    Because a friend had problems with a rogue workawayer meaning they needed the help of the gendarmes (French police) I have decided to follow the advice the gendarmes gave them & ask to see a passport & take some info such as home or person to contact details, the gendarmes suggested this would be useful in case of a workawayer being injured or taken sick, 1 girl was almost pushed into a ditch by a car while on a bicycle, if she had been hurt badly we would have had no details about her to give to the hospital for example.

    Sorry to have to ask but this rogue person was a nightmare & badly upset my friends, bye

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day or some full days & some no work days arrangements to suit all

all friends together

Host ref number: 534749829553