Come to the Leynar Faroe Islands and stay with with my family



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    Now you get an amazing chance to visit Faroe Islands and live for free at our home - yes it is a regular house and we are NOT farmers and we dont have a farm :D

    Hi - My name is John René and i am your CoHost with my parents John (82yo) and Synnøva (72yo) - i am a Faroese guy (my Father is Faroese from Faroe Islands and my mother is half Danish and half Norwegian) and i love travel and meeting different new cultures.

    During the summer season i try to be here around the house because my parents are not so fluent in english but they are fluent in the scandinavian languages (Danish, Norwegian, Swedish and Faroese) - So we preferly host native Scandinavian Speaking workawayers.

    So i decided to join the WorkAway program based on the experience of my friends who also are WorkAway hosts - and i can say that i am very happy so far for my workawayhost experience (which all in all is EXCELENT).

    We live in Leynar / Leynasand / Leynabeach (u can google it), Faroe Islands (20minutes by car from Torshavn and 20 minutes by car from the Airport) we think that is the BEST BEACH in the world.


    When i am not working or busy being a WorkAwayHost i also like to travelling.

    Yesssss I have a dog :) Belgian Malinois (Belgian Shepherd) she is born on 15jannuary2019 - so hope you are not afraid of dogs or have any allergies... because the dog stays.

    Additional Hosting in Sweden:
    I do have a house in Sweden that i am also hosting in - so if you are interested you are welcome to read about it here:

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Elderly Companionship
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live in Leynar, Faroe Islands, which is located 15min northwest of Torshavn the capitol of Faroe Islands.
    The house is in front of Leynarsand / Leynarbeach - the most wounderfull beach in Faroe Islands.

    Most of the amazing pictures of landscape are from this area and its an amazing area during summer and winter. Further more there are plenty of fishing possibilities and i am a pretty good host and info/guide if you need it. (i work alot so i dont have time to go all places with you but i am like wikipedia)

    The Faroe Islands are not tropical islands, so you need to be prepared that it get's cold up here and the weather isn't always nice, especially in the winter. So bring warm clothes, rainproof jacket and TWO pair decent shoes during winter.

    During summers Faroe Islands are not so warm... so we dont need aircon :)

    I am looking forward to meet you.

  • Help


    About the house and the help:
    This house is built in 1957 but upgraded in the 1980ies. So even the house is finished i still have some small tasks to complete inside the house as the goal is to make it into 2 apartments - one apartment in the topfloor and one in the middle and small one in the basement (my parents living in the middle floor)

    By Mid September 2017 - Me and a Workawayer did change all the electricity. We installed new cables and new plugs and switches - this we did with the help of a paid and licensed electrician since its required by law.

    The house needs a 'paint job' which i think most people can do in some form if they have time and dont need to do the tasks on the clock.

    So all in all the chores here are very easy and you do not have to wake up in the middle of the night (read early morning) to do a helping hand here in the house we normally start at 0800h.

    The optimal season to visit Faroe Islands is from April until September.
    Becouse most Faroese expats living abroad travel to Faroe Islands from June and going back abroad in August... flight tickets and carrentals and hotels are very expensive during that period.

    Faroe Islands is FAMOUS for the unstable weather where you can get all kinds of weather in one day - which means that you have to have 3-4 different plans each day so that one of the plans will be sucessfull.
    Which will mean that there are days where you can not go on the Instagram destinations and you might have to take some not so famous destination that day - and people who stay 1-2 weeks will be chasing instagram scenarios like children chase Pokemon rewards which is also the reason why i recomend (require) people to commit to 2-3 weeks as that is most benificial for me and for them.

    For me... its important to find a Workawayer that is interested in painting (roofs and walls) and carpenting (some small projects inside the house) and this can be done by the Workawayer while i am away at work.

    So far i have been very impressed by the Workawayers that i have had here with me... they managed to paint some things when i was at work and also did some general cleaning... and then they attended some festivals and did sightseeing the rest of the time (specially during weekends).

    The house is located in Leynar on the front row to Leynasand (LeynaBeach), Faroe Islands and my parents live there with me but i do take care of the maintainance since my mom is 70+ and my father is 80+.


    The minimum stay will be about 3 weeks and maximum is 6 weeks.

    I DO PREFER a workaway'er with hands on experience and is eager to learn something new and try something new.
    I DO PREFER a workaway'er that is 25+ (unless you have EXTENDED experience with carpenting) ;)
    I DO LOVE to teach workaway'ers new things and once you have been with me here you will leave with alot of new skills.

    I DISLIKE a workaway'er with addiction to socialmedia and cellphones and specially if it is surgically attached to your hand - i love people with a relaxed and controlled use of socialmedia - even i do spend aprox 30minutes pr day on FB ;)

    I DISLIKE workaway'ers that are not able to evaluate their own qualifications or their ability to do an assignment - if you can not do it... i will gladly teach and train you -

    i like to be the best i can be... and i like to motivate you to be the best you can be... skills are easy to carry on in life and on to your next travel destination.


    Working and Arrival/Departure shedule:
    Monday to Friday 0800h - 1300h
    You will be expected to work 5 days on 5hrs.


    During Weekends if i am not using my car (and the workawayers have been very good) I sometimes try to provide a minibus or arrange cheap transport so that the Workawayers can do trips for festivals or/and hiking trips together.

    Gas and RoadToll is payable by the USER = Workawayers ;)

    Normal food (Non Vegan with Gluten and Lactose) will be provided 3 times a day (its always available in the kitchen so the workawayer can eat when they are hungry) and one time a day we prepare a warm dish -
    The workawayer is always welcome to cook and use the kitchen when ever needed.

    I like to let the GUEST = workawayer try different Faroese dishes wich includes dried fish, fermented fish, dried whale meat and salted blubber and dried lamb and fermented lamb.


    IF you are not my PREFERED Workawayer or if you hold any of my DISLIKE qualifications and dont think you can commit to a limited socialmedia use for the duration of your stay here with me... then please do not contact me as it is taking up my time replying all Workawayers going to Faroe Islands.

    A bit more free info about Faroe Islands. ITS AN EXPENSIVE COUNTRY... its expensive being a tourist but its also expensive being a WorkawayHOST. So even Workaway is a cultural exchange program, most WorkawayHOSTS here will try to set up the WorkawayerVolunteer expected WorkLOAD contra the WorkawayerHOST expenses in the period that the WorkawayerVolunteer is staying with you which also in return makes the workaway program interesting for workawayhosts.



    Additional Hosting in Sweden:
    I do have a house in Sweden that i am also hosting in - so if you are interested you are welcome to read about it here:

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Faroese: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Tagalog: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    The house is built in 1957... so its a old house with old bedrooms with twinbeds. 3rooms available for Workawayers.

    There is a beautiful ocean view and the most amazing sunrise.

    The house has all facilities needed.
    Washer and dryer
    Two ovens

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Biking, Hiking, Swimming, Boating

    I have 2 mountain bikes and 1 city bike that i lend to the workawayers while they are staying here.
    Within the Capitol region all the Red busses are free of charge as it is paid by the Hard Working Faroese Tax Payers.
    Outside the Capitol regin all the Blue busses are very affordable and it is possible to buy a travel card for your stay in Faroe Islands.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Crocodile and Snakes

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5days a week

Host ref number: 533774158231

Feedback (19)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join our family in Tórshavn, the capital of Faroe Islands
Busy household welcomes help feeding animals, cleaning and babysitting in Tórshavn, Faroe Islands