Light gardening help in Muro de Alcoy, Spain



Favourited 8 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

  • Description


    We are couple who live in Spain on a half hectare lot of land. We are social, friendly people who enjoy conversing, music, reading, games, hiking. We work as teachers, translators, and auxiliar nurse. We believe in enlightened philosophy and consider ourselves socially progressive.

    We both work, so we are always coming and going. We would like people who are more independant with their free time as we may not be able to participate in excursions, day trips, etc. The house is a 15 minute walk to a bus stop into Muro de Alcoy and goes into Alcoy. From Alcoy, there are buses and trains (but the train only goes to Valencia, not Alicante. Muro has supermarkets and small shops, internet cafes, etc. Alcoy has larger stores for shopping needs.

    The property is located in the heart of the Valencian community with easy access to some of the highest peaks around. The beach is an hour away by car.

    We are looking for help with yardwork and gardening. We have been here sinse the end of January and we will be here for 18 months ourselves (maybe more time), so the work done is not for our personal project, but as a means to compensate our stay on the property. The most important work will be helping to clean the property up so as to make our stay more comfortable. A tidy house and outside area makes for a nice stay, for us and for workawayers.

    Workawayers will have access to a caravan for their private use with a double bed and a single bed (stored away in the sofa), fridge, electric stove, and electricity. It does not have water currently installed. Workaways will have full access to toilet and sink in the pool house. The property has a pool for use in summer months. and we have an 8 year old female dog who is generally socialable.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    One of us is from Connecticut (USA) and the other is from Spain. We speak English, Spanish, and Valentian and have extensive knowledge about the community and region. We know quite a bit about gardening, which is knowledge we can share, composting, eco-friendly systems, including dry toilets. One is an architect by study, but not currently practising, with extensive experience in bioconstruction. Also knowledgeable about geriatric care and working with children. Involved in local projects and cooperatives, we have many contacts, which could also be interesting.

    We consider ourselves friendly and we would like people who want to help us out a bit to make the place more comfortable for the time we are here. We also want those who come to be able to enjoy themselves by having time to hike, travel, and enjoy themselves. This is why we only ask for 4 days a week, 4 hours a day. We are not looking for people to make huge efforts for a long term project, but at the same time what we offer for accomodations is decent.

    Also, the extra energy of helpers is a motivation for us to do more around the property, like a garden, so there is an oppurtunity to propose things like that if workaways would like to help us advance things we have not been able to get started ourselves.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    The property is in need of some intensive cleaning outside the house, wood cutting, gardening, minor repairs to infrastructure, such as chicken coup, put order in certain sheds. Pool maintanance also would be nice, but not necessary. We are do it ourselves people, so what workawayer does not know or can not do can be taught or passed over for other responsibilities. Mainly, help around the yard and garden/ property to help make it clean and orderly.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am willing to teach English (as I am a teacher in the region) Although I am not a Spanish teacher, I have material I can use to teach Spanish. I am a fluent Spanish speaker and a Spanish major. My partner Speaks spanish and Valentian (dialect of Catalan). She works more than I do, and may not have time to dedicate to this, but that can be talked about by contacting us.

  • Accommodation


    Camper van with double bed and single bed (in sofa) and a small kitchen. Toilet is exterior to the campervan, next to the pool. The shower is shared in our house. Camper has kitchen with fridge and stove, and has electricty. Initially, our idea regarding food is a weekly stipend for food, and we wouldn't have any inconvience cooking for three (or four) as often as possible and sharing meal time. We want neither to oblige to eat with us or what we eat, but we are down for that. We are not vegeterains per se, but we do not consume a lot of meat. I would say we prefer to eat vegeterian because we know it's healthier and we are aware of the negative impacts the meat industry has on our societies, so we limit ourselves in that aspect. The shower is in the house, and can be used when we are home. Honestly, as of (march 2022), the bathroom is in the same condition it was when we came into the house (half reformed and in need of finishing). So we are currently showering with plastic covers on the walls. It's quite lame, but the water is hot, and when we can finish the bathroom, it will be better. As of now it is practical, but it's a bit embarrassing to show to people. We can provide photos or a video call so potential workaways can see the conditions in real-time, as hopefully they will be evolving and getting better as the months go by.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Mountainous area great for hiking. Parque natural de Mariola / La font Roja are very close, and there are other mountains near for hiking as well. The beach is an hour away. Well communicated with Alicante and Valencia (trains and airport)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is a great wifi signal near the house on the porch, with table. The camper at one end of it has good signal also, but not while in bed.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of space for a campervan or refurbished van. Electricity can be hooked up. Not water, sorry. That could be looked into, but for now it's not an option. Maybe someone who knows how to could help do it for future workawayers.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have a female dog who is 8 years old, medium sized. She is socialized, having lived most of her life with at least two other animals (sometimes up to four or five). She is friendly, but not the most playful, but she enjoys running in the country with other dogs. She won't fetch and she doesnt fight to get balls or sticks, so thats good.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 4 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 529341784792