Help out with gardening and some renovations of our little farmhouse home in Dollrottfeld, Northern Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 129 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    74  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    To all friends, who would like to come to us this year: For the moment we can just take 1 person or a couple and we have to follow the safety rules. We would ask you to bring a negative corona test and wear a mask inside the house for the first days.

    We, Thomas and Katharina, are a happy couple of worldtravellers who came home some years ago and now live in a small, 200 year old, cottage with 5000 squaremeters of land in Northern Germany some km away from the Baltic sea in the beautiful landscape of Angeln.

    If you like animals ( we live with a wonderful, friendly dog and two cats),walking, biking, surfing, swimming, kayaking etc... you are very welcome to join our wooden guesthouse in the garden or sleep in the caravan. We eat vegetarian, speak German, English, some Spanish and little French and we love to meet people from everywhere! We will cook and eat together and invite you to be part of the family.
    As our house is pretty old, there was a lot of renovation work to do, when we bought it. In the meantime it has improved very much, but still your building skills are needed! ☺️
    On our land we planted some fruit trees and with the kind help of many hands we have started the veggie garden during the summer of 2017.

    We like music and dancing, meeting friends, sit around a campfire, we have our own little pottery workshop and more birds around then neighbours. Next shopping possibilities and train station is about 4km away and you can use our bicycle to get there or to the closeby (6km) fjord of Schlei for a refreshing swim after work...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help to learn some more German. We like to talk about the world and encourage you to make your own experiences during your travels. You can learn or do pottery, play our piano or guitar or didjeridoo, improve your building skills, help us improve ours as well!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    In the renovation of our little farmhouse we try to use only natural materials to make the house a healthy and sustainable place. In 2017 we renewed the roof including solar panels, next tasks will be to do the insulation, build walls and floors for the new rooms in the upper story, get some new windows, move lots of soil, take care for the garden... Just too much for just our four hands...So, at least some practical skills are needed!
    To help us with our outside jobs we just bought an more then 50 year-old tractor, that needs technical and optical renovation and a new shelter too...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Danish: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will sleep in a cosy wooden guesthouse of about 12 m2 in the garden, with one large bed, internet connection and sunset view ;-), where we lived in the beginning of our project, when the whole house was still building area. If the guesthouse is occupied we have additional space in a mobile home for two people. We still all share one bathroom in the main house.
    In our nice little kitchen we invite you to cook and eat with us.
    If the weather allows it you can relax in the garden in the hammock after work.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In summer you can go to the fjord "Schlei", which is 6km to go by bicycle or to the Baltic sea, which is about 15 km to go, nice little town of Kappeln provides many nice fish restaurants, you can get to Flensburg by train or to Schleswig by bus. Both towns have many cultural events like medieval markets, Viking handcraft exhibitions or music festivals during the summer time. The Angeln landscape is perfect for bike tours, if the weather spirits decide to show their friendly faces..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have two free roaming cats and an old and friendly dog. We can accept any animal, that doesn't fight with our dog and chase the cats 😊

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















































Host ref number: 524637575531