Help maintain a tropical wetland, work in the home, farm or garden and have fun in Kailua, Hawaii!


United States

Favourited 763 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 28 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  • Description


    Welcome to our home on a lake and wetland in Kailua, Hawaii. We live just 30 minutes drive from Honolulu and 5 minutes drive from Kailua town center. Our family consists of a son going to college in Indiana, a daughter currently living in London and my husband and me – both graphic designers and photographers.

    Our home is on a large piece of land and we take care of the wetland in our “front yard.” The wetland is home to some of Hawaii’s most endangered waterbirds. We are starting a small farm on the property, where we are growing bananas, mangoes, papayas, lemons and lots of tropical flowers! Unfortunately, the weeds grow three times as fast as the good plants so we are always trying to tame the jungle! (And you will be too if you volunteer with us!)

    We are a non-smoking household and guests must be non-smoking too. We have two large active dogs, a love bird and several hens.

    We prefer stays that are between 1 and 2 weeks long. If you are looking for a place to stay longer than that, do not contact us.

    We like to host people who are happy, enthusiastic and fun-loving. The weeding and gardening work can be hard, and depending on the time of year, it can be hot and steamy here... but you'll enjoy tasty meals with us, and have lots of opportunities for exploring and enjoying the beautiful beaches, mountains and culture of Hawaii.


    Before you contact us, you must have a proper profile filled out for yourself. Your profile and your first email are the only way we have of making an initial selection when we consider inviting you into our home and lives. Be sure to have several photos of yourself on your profile page... pictures that give us an idea of your personality and what you like to do. If you are applying as a couple, we need information and photos for both of you.

    When you apply make sure you include the date range you are looking for.

    Do not apply to us if you are looking to stay for longer than 2 weeks.

    Do not apply to us if you are a smoker... we do not allow smoking anywhere in the house or the grounds. Also, absolutely no marijuana or drugs allowed.

    Do apply if you are a happy, adventurous and energetic person - or couple - who wants to experience life in Hawaii!


  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our home is less than 2 miles from Kailua Town and a bit more than 2 miles to Kailua beach. We have two older bikes and kayaks available to use. Kailua is a charming beach town with lots of fun shops and restaurants.

    Things to do in and around Kailua -- some you can get to by walking/biking, others by car or bus:

    Beachwalking, swimming and windsurfing at Kailua and Lanikai Beach. Lots of hikes nearby including the Pillbox, Maunawili Falls and Makapuu Lighthouse. Good museums include Bishop Museum and the Pearl Harbor WWII museums. Waikiki -- with lots of shops, tourist attractions and pretty beach where you can take surfing lessons. North Shore surfing beaches and Haleiwa town. Hanauma Bay -- an underwater nature preserve that is fantastic for snorkelling.

  • Help


    We would love to have a visitor with gardening experience (mainly weeding and removing invasive plants from the yard, wetland and stream bank) or someone who enjoys “spring cleaning” type of housecleaning (or a mix of both). Ideal is someone who enjoys working hard and then having fun exploring or relaxing in our wonderful area.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own large bedroom with a lovely view of the mountains and there is a bathroom down the hall. There is internet access and a media room with TV if you want to watch a few shows with the family. You are welcome to spend time in the house with us and there is plenty of space for private time too.

    We will provide you with meals when you are around the house… we are mainly vegetarian with some meat served from time-to-time for the non-vegetarian members of the family. WE CANNOT ACCOMMODATE VEGAN DIETS. We love eating dinner out on our open air lanai overlooking the lake. We sometimes build a fire down by the lake and enjoy dessert or drinks down there. I’m sure you will enjoy it too!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The public transport system (TheBus) is good if you are not in a hurry. A city bus comes near our home every hour, and the bus from Kailua town into Honolulu and Waikiki runs more frequently. It is just a 25 minute walk into Kailua town… and about a 35 minute walk to Kailua Beach. We can lend you older bicycles and then it's just 10 minutes to town or the beach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days per week -- you decide the schedule.

Kailua Beach and Flat Island (on right) are fun for kayaking to.
You can canoe and kayak out to the lake and down to the ocean. That's Lisa from Germany in our kayak.
Ashleigh from England enjoys the spectacular view of the windward side from the Makapuu lookout... it's just a 20 minute drive from our place.
Claire from England kept busy with weeding the planting beds around the house.
Inga from Germany helps with potting some exotic Ti plants.
Watching the sunrise between the Mokulua Islands is a favorite thing for our visitors to do.
Tamsin and Tom from England enjoy a drink of coconut water fresh from the coconut that Tom opened himself! Later, we all enjoyed chunks of fresh coconut.
Our dogs, Jazzie (white) and Rajah (brown). They love to play and will expect you to throw the ball for them. Tummy rubs are good too!
Franzi and Caro from Germany take a sunrise walk on Lanikai Beach, a 5 minute drive from our home.
My favorite time to walk on the beach is just before dawn. You get to see some beautiful sunrises!
Kailua Beach
An early morning walk on Kailua Beach.
One of our cute and shy gold dust lizards.
This is the room that our guest will stay in.
Honolulu is just over the mountains.
Our family, Edward, Hugo, Emma and Cindy.
This is a beautiful hike just 20 minute drive from our home.
The wetland in the foreground with our home in the background.
Our home has a large front yard -- great for playing frisbee with the dogs or bocci ball with the family.
Our front yard overlooks the wetland and the lake.
Lanikai Beach is famous for its warm water and very soft sand.
The walkway to the house is lined with tropical plants.
Here we are, paddling through the wetland and picking up trash.
Kailua Beach is just minutes away.

Host ref number: 517161711138