Help with painting a camper van and help with the gardens in Salobreña, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 126 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my partner Doug, our 2 dogs and I moved to Southern Spain last year to open an eco guest villa, near the beautiful town of Salobreńa. The last year has been spent upgrading the rental villa and our own little finca (oh and "acquiring" some additional furry family members!

    We have been building a living eco pool, using recycled water from both properties. We are using only native water plants, which are becoming rare due to imported plants. We are working with a local family business who specialise in this field. This project is nearly completed. So now looking at our next project!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The property really is like paradise, a beautiful place with a lovely energy from the sea view and wildlife.
    There will be lots of free time to enjoy the paradise that we are fortunate to live in.

  • Help

    Help

    We are organising the arrival of a converted 7.5 Ton lorry (see picture) The plan is for the camper lorry to have its own private garden. We would like help to paint the outside to look like a vintage train carriage or maybe a gypsy caravan, the plan is to have climbing plants to make it look as “natural” as possible. We would also like to upgrade some of the carpentry inside. It really is a fantastic space to live in, and would anticipate 2 workaways (or a couple) staying in here whilst the work is done. In addition there’s a further room in our property for a additional workaways.
    The tasks will be shared between us, we do not expect our workaway to be working alone, or without sufficient breaks and support. This is very much a team effort. We are keen to have fun too!

    We will consider the camper lorry being used for longer term winter hosting.

    You should be able to do the tasks without constant supervision, and have initiative, ideally someone who can see something needs doing and is happy to do it.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live on a steep hill with tiered gardens. We have a double bedroom. (ensuite) available for our workaway in our finca, at the top of the hill.
    In addition there is a lounge area and small kitchen (open planned) Outside is a gorgeous tropical walled garden (with 2 large glass panels so you can see the sea) This year we put in a large outside kitchen (also with sea views) which includes a bar that 6 people can sit at. There is a hot tub made with marble (not a commercial one) for winter, which is left cool for summer. There is an additional glass fronted yurt we use as an office. This has internet access and is available for your use to.

    There is a pathway to the rental villa, which has a salt swimming pool and hot tub. The gardens then continue down to our private gate.
    When we don't have guests we can all use the swimming pool. We're a 1.9km walk to a beach (stoney)
    We have 5 dogs, the two small ones we bought with us, Colin (12yrs) & Betsy Boo (5yrs) In addition we have 3 rescue dogs Nana a 65 kilo Spanish Mastin (age???) we think she is younger than she looks, she's had probably close to 80 puppies and was in a sad state. She is so docile & is now loving retirement. Rocky (6yrs?) who is a pitbull, again horrible history, but he is gorgeous (though a bit of a doughnut at times!) very very good natured. Finally piglet, who is our 12 week old kitten found dumped, weighing just 0.7 kg. We also have 3 cats, all hand reared by myself and Betsy Boo from a few days old who behave more like dogs than cats (they sit for treats!)
    Meals are included (breakfast lunch & dinner) I love to cook so happy to take turns in cooking. Equally if you prefer to cook your own thats ok too. We eat a lot of fish, and local veg produce, generally healthy food. (I follow a keto diet)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I went travelling alone, when I was 17 for 2 years (mostly Indonesia and Australia) 34 years ago! I was on the tiniest budget, and wish they'd been something like workway then. (Though not sure I would have returned to the UK if there had been!
    I have a Guest House business in the UK which has its Eco tourism award, whilst there is nothing like that here we're keen to apply the same principles.I was foster carer in the UK (54 children) and also weekend carer. So very used to living with others. I consider myself a lively, fun, empathetic person.
    Doug retired last year from the GLA (finance) having worked for the last 3 Mayors!
    Doug is more laid back and measured than I am, (probably opposites in fact) but we make a great team. We are very sociable but equally enjoy our time together. We are generous with our time to help others.
    I have 4 "children" age 21 - 26 years old (musicians & designers & architect student) living in the UK, they come here when they can. They're easy to have around.

    Clare & Doug

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    If staying in the camper lorry, pets will be considered.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 516242253942