Help out a family of 3 generations around our farm and land projects on an island in South-Western Finland

Country

Finland

Favourited 260 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 3 generations living on an island in South-Western Finland. We run a sheepfarm, take care of the traditional landscape of the island, rent out accommodation for visitors and take care of some traditional wooden boats. We are also active in the village association and arrange different events.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    In winter we need help with making fire wood and cleaning the landscape from bushes. Also there is work with renovating an old house, painting and decorating. In spring there is work with cleaning the nature paths, helping with sheep and painting buildings outside. Help is needed in the garden and with the traditional wooden boats. In summer there are different activities and art projects in the community suitable for a creative person. Also help in tourist service like heating the sauna and hot tub is needed time to time.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There will accommodation in rooms in a farmhouse or cottages in the summer. Wintertime in your own room in our house. In summer there will eco outdoor toilet and shower in a separate building, sauna approx twice a week. In winter wc and shower in the same building. There is electricity and wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a one hour ferry transport to our island. In summer there is a café and shop. Swimming, kayaking, fishing are activities you can do on our island. And walk arount the nature paths. You can take the ferry and visit other islands and also bike around the islands. We have volunteer projects and summer events where you meet people from near and far.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 513463112595