Teach and learn in a different way in a democratic school in Piedmont, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 123 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 29 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a parental democratic school, self-managed space for children from 3 to 11 years old and their families in which we practice libertarian education.
    We think that is very important for children to grow up following their own attitudes and respecting the community in which they live. In our project, they have the possibility to discuss with adults all the proposals of activities to do every day, in a reality whitout marks or punishments, in which every person (child or adult) learn the importance of his personality and the consequences of his behavior.
    We strongly believe that everything in life offers us opportunities to learn, so we try to let children free to discover the world and we accompany them through new experiences, trying to link theorical and practical learning.
    The school is situated in a country-house (children spend a lot of time outsider, in the fields around the house) surrounded by the green hills of the Langhe and Roero area (Unesco World Heritage Site).
    The school is self-managed by the families and some educators, mainly on a voluntary basis.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the possibility of understanding how a democratic school works, and experiencing new ways of teaching and learning.
    You can learn or improve Italian language and discover a magnificent territory, with the possibilities to ask to the families you will know some advices or ospitality for a small period (a few days).

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who can stay with children in their daily activities and speak his maternal language with them (if you speak English, Spanish or French there will be somebody who will translate for you if you need it).
    In our school there aren’t frontal lessons: we work on children’s autonomy day by day, and you will be asked to support educators in accompany children in their ordinary schedule, from 3 to 11 years old (you have to think on different needs according to the age of the child). You normally won’t be let alone with the children, but you may be required to be able to stay with them in different situation (inside during labs, outside when they play, etc...)
    We wish you will organize some specific labs or activities with them, depending on your skills, interests and passions.
    We also need an help for houseworks and general maintenance of the external part of the house (including garden and spaces to restructure).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be hosted inside the country house in which the school is situated. You will have your personal room but you will have to share bathroom, kitchen and other spaces with children and educators during the day.
    At night you will be alone in the house, but is possible to you to ask families to host you in weekends if you want.
    The house is situated in a small village.
    All the meals will be provided for by the school.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the village where the school is situated there isn’ public transport, but we are trying to find a car available for you. If you need to go in a specific place, you can ask to families or educators if they can bring you there.
    We don't have any internet access at the moment, but during the day you can ask to use educators' phones like an hot-spot.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Flexible, depending on the weekly schedule but max 25 hours, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 499624638719