Come and help us with organic gardening and around our house near Toronto, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    196

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️Our Calendar for 2019 is filling up fast! We have space in October 14 - Nov. 1 only*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️

    Hi Work Awayers! We are a fun and busy family living near Toronto, Ontario. We live in the beautiful Nottawasaga Valley and literally within an hour's drive of everything from downtown Toronto to the wilderness of the Muskokas, fabulous Collingwood, the Blue Mountains and don't forget Wasaga Beach - the world's longest freshwater sandy beach.

    We need your help around our house as well as with organic gardening that we do for various people in our area. Duties would include general cleaning, painting, yard work, gardening and other outdoor work. My children (ages 11, 14 and 16) would like to learn your language and about your culture. We have 2 cats and 1 dog.

    Meals are a shared responsibility, as is housework and are not considered part of the Workaway hours. We typically work 4 - 5 hours a day, mostly outside during in the warmer months.

    We will provide unlimited internet access, share our food and provide you with private or shared accommodation depending on availability.

    We welcome LGBTQ volunteers.

    You are invited to join us on our adventures when we're not working. We love the outdoors and hike, bike, rock climb, go caving, camping and go to the beach (when it's warm). We also enjoy time in the city and due to our busy schedule with the kid's sports, we travel to cities around Ontario a lot.

    Also, we live 30 mins from the GO Train/Bus that will take you anywhere in the Toronto area you would like. We are very accommodating, so if you need help making a plan, just ask! Our large home has lots of comfortable space.Our pets include a sweet 9 year old puggle dog and 2 cats that are friendly.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Toronto is one of the most multicultural cities in the world! There is so much going on here, the opportunities are limitless. We are very open and love to connect with everyone. We will share our lives and culture with you, and you share your with us.

  • Help

    Help

    No experience is necessary, just a positive attitude and willingness to contribute meaningfully to the community of our home. We are looking for approximately 20 hours a week and are flexible with how that's done. For example, if you want to work 6 - 7 hours a day for 3 days and then take the rest of the week off, we can do that, especially during gardening season when there's lots of work to do. In the winter months it would be preferable to spread the work over 4 - 5 days in the home.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a library/bedroom that can accommodate 2 friends travelling together or a comfortable bedroom that can accommodate 1-2 persons. We have 4 bathrooms, so there's always one available. Your rooms are on the main floor of the house and ours are upstairs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Crystal Beach, Lake Erie on a nice, hot day in August.
Fruit stand in Niagara
I'm Michelle - the mom of this family...and your potential host :)
Amelia spreading mulch on some spring gardens
This is Isaac skipping along some volcanic rocks that are 3.5 billion years old on Lake Superior.
Meet Isaac (14), Amelia (16), Kiannah (20) and Kyla (11). This is our fabulous family!
This is Amelia at Singing Sands, Bruce Peninsula National Park...just 3 hour's drive from our home.
Isaac and Kiannah caving at Mettcalfe Cliffs near Blue Mountain. We also do rock climbing here.
This is Kiannah. She's 20 years old and the oldest of our children. She's currently studying Horticulture in Ottawa and is an important part of our gardening.
A beautiful landscape view in our valley on a warm summer day.












Host ref number: 496125572411