Help with childcare, cooking & gardening in Yokohama, Japan

Country

Japan

Favourited 112 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    303

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello travelers! My name is Sybrina (pronounced similar to Sabrina). We are an American-Japanese mixed family of four living in Yokohama, Japan. We have a home in the suburbs & both of us are working full-time. I am a kindergarten teacher, I own my own school not far away from our home. My husband is the typical Japanese salaryman working long hours. Therefore I am alone in a big house with a big garden with two young children, and I need help!! There is always something to do, I have several projects in mind, which I hope to get done by then end of the summer.

    Our house is conveniently located 8 minutes walk from Nagatsuta Station, which is about 30 minutes direct to Tokyo City central (Shibuya Station) along the Den-en-Toshi Line and 20 minutes to Yokohama City central (Shin Yokohama Station and Yokohama Station), so you will not be far from tourist attractions and the hustle & bustle of the big city! We live next to a temple and there are a few other small temples in the immediate neighborhood.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our house is a traditional Japanese house with a washitsu (or Japanese room with tatami flooring) and we can also see Mt. Fuji on a clear day since our home is on a hilltop. We are located next to a Japanese temple and there are a few others nearby. If you are thinking of practicing Japanese, you can learn at the local international lounge, where they offer one-on-one or small group lessons each week for ¥300/month (not a typo!). You can also speak with the grandparents, who do not speak any English. Grandpa and Grandma are handy in the home & garden; you my be working with them to help complete the projects and can improve your Japanese speaking skills.

    Our family has been hosting volunteers for over 4 years now through our first Workaway project (at my preschool), and we have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We love meeting people from all over the world and look forward to meeting many more friendly travelers in the future!

  • Help

    Help

    Projects we have in mind for the house and garden include:
    *️️️️️Weeding, planting new flowers, general up-keep in the garden
    *️️️️️Constructing a raised vegetable garden built into the hillside at the back of our property
    *️️️️️General cleaning of the house (sweeping, vacuuming, laundry, dishes, etc)
    *️Looking after my children (ages 5yrs and 1yr) --> if you can speak to them in French, Spanish, or Chinese that would be great!
    *️Help with meal planning and preparation

    As you can see, the work needing help with can be quite physically straining, so I am hoping to host someone strong who is up for the challenge and not afraid to get their hands dirty! Also, please note that Summer in Japan is VERY hot & humid, with lots of mosquitoes & other bugs about. Needless to say, a lot of the work will be outside...please make contact only if you are ok with working in that kind of environment.

    Furthermore, my husband and I are both working full-time, so we'd like to host someone who is skilled/knowledgeable in building and/or gardening who can work independently while we are away during the day.

    Since childcare is involved, I require that potential Workawayers Skype or Facebook video chat with me first before making a decision.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Japanese, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will be welcome to stay in their own private room on the second floor of the house, where there is a bathroom, washing machine, shower, and mini kitchen. The room has an air-conditioner and lots of storage space. This part of the house also has a private entrance from the rest of the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much to see and do in our area, a quick Google search will yield some great recommendations. Our favorite places for day trips are: Kamakura, Hakone, and Nikko.
    We do recommend that travelers:
    *️️️️️bring a plug transformer
    *️️️️️bring a pocket wi-fi because you can't buy SIM cards freely at phone shops, etc. (however, recently they have started selling SIM cards from a machine only at Narita Airport)
    *️️️️️please download the application Line on your smartphone as it is a great way to keep in touch through free phone calls or messaging...everyone uses it in Japan.
    *️️️️️please bookmark the "Japan Train Route Finder Jorudan" webpage as it is a great resource for knowing the train schedules all across Japan. (I'm sorry I cannot put the URL here, so please Google it)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our daughter on the day of her 7-5-3 celebration
On a hike in the countryside
Me and my daughter at a temple in Kamakura
view from our living room

Host ref number: 491882374564