Help with heavy gardening and some carpentry projects in Pontlevoy, France

Country

France

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/02/2020

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am English, native Londoner and moved to France 8 years ago. 2018 I sold my French village town house for this farm house and small holding. I desperately need help with heavy gardening, digging, planting, moving old concrete from the fields, taking down chicken houses, clearing up the garden. If you have carpentry skills this would be amazing as the kitchen needs some shelves making. I live with my 2 cats, 6 chickens and 1 cockerel and my partner Michel who sadly is away one week in two at the moment, hence the need for some extra help. I work full time in the local secondary school teaching English. I also teach violin and piano 3 evenings a week.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With me you can speak English or French.
    If you are a musician we can make music together at weekends.
    With my partner you can speak French or Dutch.
    We live in a beautiful part of the Loire Valley. You're welcome to borrow a bike and cycle along the Loire, the Cher. Cycle to Amboise, Blois, Chenonceau, Chaumont castles.
    Local market in Montrichard on Fridays.

  • Help

    Help

    i bought this old farm house and an acre of land 1 1/2 years ago. My partner and I have fully restored the house.
    We open for bed and breakfast in April and need help sorting the acre of garden.

    We need help:
    making a garden/courtyard for our guests
    clearing chicken coops and taking metal and concrete to the dump
    digging the vegetable patch
    planting
    general garden clearing and tidying

    If you have carpentry skills:
    we need some kitchen shelves building.

    Unfortunately my partner is tied to helping a very sick friend one week in two, and so he is not around much to help. And so your help is needed now, to get us through this tricky time.

    If you can cook.....please cook! I work full time and my cooking skills are not terribly exciting. Whereas, when my partner is here, he will cook for us. He is and was a chef.

    This heavy gardening work would suit a man or a woman. However, the help I need requires someone motivated to work hard. It's not easy work. My back is killing me!
    This work would suit someone who wants to live quite remotely, who loves hard work, who loves nature, who is not seeking entertainment. We do have wifi though! Don't despair!. Netflix works well.
    Wednesday night we have a shared dinner night where my colleagues bring food and we all eat together, so there are people around....but mostly its the birds and chickens.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private double bedroom.
    Private kitchen if you want it. Although you're welcome to use our kitchen. (The house is divided into two - my part with kicthen, sitting room bedroom, study. The other part which from April we rent as a gite - bathroom, 2 bedrooms kitchen sitting room.
    Shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    No smoking anywhere in the house please. The village has an excellent bakery, butchers, an average restaurant open at lunch times and open for pizzas on Friday and Saturday evenings. It has a church and post office. The village is typically French with all the shops around the church and square.
    You're welcome to borrow our excellent touring bikes and disappear off along the Loire or the Cher rivers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    6 hours per day


Host ref number: 474358662973