Gardening and house renovation help needed on the site of an old Millhouse in Poitou Charentes, France

Country

France

Favourited 105 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/08/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,
    We live on the site of an old Mill house, south of the Deux-Sèvres, Poitou Charentes, South West France. It is a beautiful property, on 2.5 hectares surrounded by the Sompteuse river on one side and fields on the other. We have a horse and a shetland pony (Indy and Isis), hens, a sheep (Beryl), a goat (Mabel), 2 dogs - Reilly, our 16 month old adopted pointer-cross and Mulligan, our 15 year old Jack Russell.
    It is a large house which we are currently splitting into 2- one half will be our home and the other half will be a gîte for summer lets. Anybody coming to stay would have their own room and bathroom.
    We have 3 daughters - Meghan is 26 and currently living and working in London, Roisin is 24 and is living and working in Lille and Rhiannon is 20 in her second year of University in Montpellier.
    My husband David and myself are currently renovating our property and re-landscaping our garden in order to start offering holiday rentals this summer. I also teach French (to local ex-pats) and English to businesses and individuals in Niort.
    We enjoy spending our time on the property as well as going for long walks around the countryside. I go out for walks everyday with Reilly as he is a lively young dog who needs lots of exercise. We are also keen cooks so enjoy cooking up tasty dishes for ourselves and friends, when we are allowed to socialise !
    The environment is rural, calm and peaceful.
    Helen

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As an English speaking family in France there is the benefit of a dual cultural experience - living and working within an English speaking environment while enjoying the beautiful countryside and market towns that rural France has to offer. Whilst we speak English at home, we have many French friends and throughout the summer there are often local events that we attend as well as entertaining in each other's houses.

  • Help

    Help

    The priority at the moment is the renovation project, primarily painting and decorating as well as helping David fit a kitchen and bathroom.
    The garden is also large and we are currently landscaping for a pergola, a bridge and some new flowerbeds - any experience in these areas would be great but not essential!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    As a language teacher I am happy to help any visitors with their language needs, either in French or English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As I said before we have a large property so anyone coming here would have their own bedroom and bathroom. You would eat with us, but there is plenty of space to get away to do your own thing if you wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport from our village and the nearest town is 9 km away (the market towns of Chef Boutonne or Melle). From there, there are buses which will take you to Niort, our nearest large town. La Rochelle and Poitiers are also within commuting distance.
    We have numerous bikes at your disposal to visit the local markets and countryside. It is a very peaceful and tranquil place, and would suit someone who enjoys country life and all that has to offer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have lots of space so there would be no problem welcoming a campervan.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 474315896895