1 / 5

Gardening help for a Kiwi family in North Canterbury, New Zealand

  • New Zealand
  • Favourited 55 times
  • Last activity: 28 May 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less



  • Description


    We are a Kiwi family of four - Mum, Dad and 2 girls aged 17 & 14. We run a large sheep/beef farm in Cheviot, North Canterbury. (approx. 1 hour North of Christchurch). We need help mostly in our garden (a very large garden) and general outdoor work, there is also cleaning in and around the house and if you love to cook, we would love that too!! Must be handy with a hedge trimmer/tools/chainsaw etc.. and ride-on lawnmower. Lots of work, if you are up for the challenge! Good food along with a crazy, fun-loving family (never a dull moment in this home!). If you love being outdoors and being apart of a family environment, then give us a call!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Helpers will gain an insight into rural living in a very supportive communtiy. Helpers will also learn about Kiwi lifestyle and how we operate our business here on the farm.
    We are happy to help improve their english and learn more about New Zealand and also about farm life.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Mostly in need of help in our garden! Lots and lots of garden work..from pulling weeds, cutting branches, lawns to doing creative paintwork in some areas of our huge garden!!! Some housework and window cleaning. However, we will try to find some jobs to match the skills of helpers.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a large 5 bedroom homestead. Helpers will have a very comfortable spare bedroom to sleep within the family home. We also have other accomodation that we are currently working on that will be available in the new year so that we can accomodate more than 2 helpers. Wifi available and all meals included. (We would love that helpers would share in cooking their national dish).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to the Hurunui River, which is known for it's Trout fishing, Jet boating and Kayaking. We usually take a picnic and go down to swim at the river. We are a approx. 15-20 mins from the very popular & beautiful Gore Bay (Surf & Swim Beach). Winter sports for those who love skiing, like we do, we have Mt Lyford Ski field approx. 1 and a half hour drive.
    Please note: we do not get cell phone coverage here, therefore txting does not work. If you are on Facebook, you can use messenger.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 468394286387

Feedback (2)



Community life in the Reikorangi Valley, New Zealand
Help us with garden projects in Wellington, New Zealand